Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I thought this was a good concept, but I changed the recipe a bit. I used six boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 2lbs) seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, and a little salt. I put a little bbq sauce in the bottom and then I layered the chicken. I covered the chicken with about 28 ounces of Sweet Baby Rays bbq sacue. After four hours on low it was done. The chicken fell apart and the sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This is really a great idea. I read the reviews before I prepared it, noted that some said that it was dry, and decided to add some water to thin the barbacue sauce down and give the recipe less of a chance to dry out. It turned out PERFECT. As noted before me, the meat fell off the bone, and was not dry at all. Nothing short of delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I was skeptical... BBQ in a crock-pot? Well, I used a combination of "Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce" and "Grant's Midnight Grill" sauces . Took skin off and any big ol' hunks of fat. Also stuffed inside and on top with green apples and green onions. If possible, find a way to "raise" the chicken up from the bottom of the crockpot to get it out of the juices (bowl or bunched up foil). So good!! Be sure to let the bird rest after you pull it out and before cutting so it will retain its juiciness. Yummy!! Definately a regular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Very good recipe! I have made it twice so far using kraft honey barbacue sauce and chicken leg quaters. The 1st time I made it the sauce thinned out and it took away alot of flavor. So the 2nd time I made it I took the skin off the meat and it made the sauce much thicker and tasty. The meat fell off the bone and my husband loves it. I plan on making it again with boneless,skinless cuts of meat in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I used chicken breasts and a whole jar of bbq sauce. My kids loved it! The chicken was very tender and fell off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was really tender and fell off the bone. The only problem is that it sits in so much grease in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Delicous, the meat will fall off the bone!!! The flavor is astounding, also try different sauces for cooking like lemon pepper marinade, etc. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This recipe will not be dry if you use chicken thighs. Breast meat will turn out dry (don't know why). We also like to use KRAFT Honey Mustard BBQ Sauce (we use the entire bottle). We LOVE it, and it's perfect for when I'm gone all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I rate this chicken recipe with 5 stars for ease but a 1 on flavor, very bland. I have tried this recipe 3 times now each time using different brands and flavors of BBQ sauce (the latest being spicy hot), still to no avail. There just wasn't any flavor to the chicken. When I told my husband I wouldn't be trying again he said, "I am okay with that." Not the chicken recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Quick, this recipe is not. But delicious, simple, and downright a winner in my kitchen. I set off to work to come home to a meal without the fuss. Goes great with potato salad or bbq beans. Don't forget the napkins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States