Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We really enjoyd this. I followed the other reviews and balled up foil and placed the chicken on top of it. We used an entire bottle of honey BBQ sauce (store brand) and drenched the inside and out of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The chicken did fall off the bone, but it was not that tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My boyfriend really liked this recipe, but I thought the flavour was so-so. We used 3/4 of a bottle of Diana's sauce, and slow cooked for 8 hours. I followed the advice of others and put a little bit of water and elevated the chicken using balls of aluminium foil. I don't think the water was necessary since I think the chicken would submerged in sauce and fat anyway. I usually don't like slow cooking meats because they usually come out really fatty and oily unless you drain it regularly. Since I was at work, I couldn't do that. But despite all of this, I thought it was really easy and pretty good. I think next time I'll try a BBQ sauce with a stronger flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy and good! I used boneless chicken breasts and added water as well. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was mediocre at best. To be fair, I did change things a bit. I am awarding 3 *'s due to my 1 major change (but honestly, this is only deserving of 2). Drumsticks were on sale, so I used those instead of a whole bird. In retrospect, I really wish I would have tried suessinimi's recipe as is, but for fear of my chicken drying out, I didn't (a good dose of common sense & others warnings about meat drying out as it cooked all day scared me off). I think the BBQ sauce slathered in the chicken's cavity would have made for some AWESOME tasting meat (assuming it remained moist). My chicken, although not dry, was totally unappealing. If it weren't for me & my hubby being HUNGRY, we'd probably not have even eaten what was in the crockpot. My biggest gripe? Although I used an entire (regular sized) bottle of BBQ sauce (K.C. Masterpiece hickory), my chicken wasn't saucy at all! It's as if the sauce evaporated & left a burnt smelling crust behind. I guess removing the skin from my chicken wasn't such a good idea after all.... My advice? Add H2O w/ your BBQ sauce (and lots of it, especially if you're going to leave this to cook all day) & DON'T remove the skin from your bird! Served w/ all the BBQ fixins, this was an "OK" meal. I certainly wouldn't make this again unless "as directed" & I were home all day to monitor the sc (which kinda defeats the purpose of using one to begin with, IMHO) so I probably won't be attempting this again for that very reason. Thanks for sharing tho! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Ours came out kind of dry after 10 hrs of slow cooking. Definitely fell off the bone/shredded easily, but would be better in enchiladas or mixed with more BBQ sauce and put on a bun than just eating as is. It had good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Taking the suggestion of many reviewers, I made the following changes: (a) removed the skin and excess fat from the chicken prior to cooking, (b) seasoned the meat with chicken rub, (c) stuffed the bird with a sliced apple, (d) placed aluminum foil balls in the bottom of the slow cooker, (e) poured water in the bottom (maybe 1/2 or 1 cup), and (f) used more sauce, probably about 2 1/4 cups. After 6 hours, the meat was so tender that it fell off the bone, and serving it was very messy. Husband was silent until halfway through his second serving, at which point he declared, "This is very good!" The leftovers will be BBQ chicken sandwiches. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Its amazing how easy this recipe is. I followed to a T . great for a hot summer day when you dont want to turn the oven on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
What perfect timing to find such a recipe! I knew I'd be working on day to complete a project and wouldn't have time to babysit a stove. My husband loves BBQ chicken. This seemed too simple, but I tried it. I used 1 cup of BBQ sauce for 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to the sauce and made sure the chicken was covered by it. I didn't start until 2:30 PM so I set the crockpot on high. We ate it around 6 PM and it was perfect! Tender and moist with good flavor. My husband raved about it! He'll be home tomorrow so I told him I made the third piece of chicken for his lunch. He declared me a saint... LOL! Great addition to my rotating meal schedule. Thanks, suessinmi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Italian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
VERY EASY - VERY YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States