Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was really and yes it is fall of the bone goodness. and my family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
this recipe didn't work for me. It was dry. The chicken was very dark. It looked burnt! I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I know it sounds strange but if you use a thick bbq sauce and add some sprite or sierra mist mixed with the bbq sauce and make sure you pour it in the inside of the chicken it really tastes a lot better! Just make sure you use crumpled foil at the bottom of the crock pot and tilt the chicken so that the open cavity is tilted upward to insure the sauce will soak from the inside out. Also if you put the chicken breast side down they will def not come out dry ever. If you don't have 8 hours then leave on high and it will come out just as good in 4-6 hours depending on your crock pot. Trust me it is worth trying this way and if you want a sweeter taste use pineapple ring just placed over the top but be sure to drain the juice and press them between paper towels. I have 4 kids and they love it, they actually fight over the pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
That said, this is a good idea and makes a tender chicken! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Because I work over an hour and a half away from home, it's always difficult to make chicken during the week, as it takes so much time in the oven. But with this...I get to give my family a delicious chicken dinner whenever I want. I've tried so many different kinds of BBQ sauce, and each one has been a hit. Thank you so much for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made this receipe numerous times - it really is the perfect busy day meal. To keep the bird out of the liquid that accummulates on the bottom of the slow cooker during cooking, make 3 "balls" out of tinfoil, and place them in the slow cooker first. Then, set the bird on top of the balls (which lifts the bird off the bottom of the slow cooker). Cover in BBQ sauce. Cook 10 hours on low. I use this method to cook whole birds all the time, using a variety of seasonings (not just BBQ sauce). It's fantastic. Plus, the bird is easy to debone and the leftover meat (which freezes well) can be used in a plethora of ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved it! I used chicken breasts instead and they turned out super moist. These were great shredded in sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
this was very easy and tasted good. i used a whole chicken, cut up already. i left the skin on half and took the skin off of the other half. i added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder before covering with bbq sauce (i used about half a bottle because that's all i had - i also rinsed the bottle with a little water to get the rest out). the chicken was a bit dry so next time i will cook it for a little less time. it also needed a lot more salt. i served it over white rice. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
chicken came right off the bone! Tasty. coulda been more tasty, but next time i'll cut into it a bit and add more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcisnero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So yummy. I cooked it last night. I keep sneaking some. I did change things. I added half a bottle honey mustered and the BBQ and added water and put salt and pepper and garlic to it. This recipe was easy and gave me some ideals. I will cook again. If I have some left I will put on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States