Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Personally, I enjoyed it, but the other three in my family just considered it 'meh'. They were turned off by the dark color of the chicken breast and all of the chicken 'turned down', which was odd, because when I normally do chicken in the crockpot they are all over it. Thank you from me....because that means more leftovers for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very easy recipe. Rather than read the reviews, I followed the recipe. My slow cooker, even on very low (I have 2 low settings) cooks hot.I checked it after 7 hours and knew immediately it was overcooked. I probably should have checked it after 4.5 to 5 hours. Anyway, even overcooked, my girls liked it. Two things for the next time I cook it: 1) shorter cooking time! 2) replace half cup of BBQ sauce for one bottle of chili sauce to give it a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
5 stars for the original recipe, and a negative 5 stars for the commenter who said they cooked 6 chicken breasts on low heat for 4 hours and the chicken fell apart. I have used my slow cooker for countless recipes at the allotted low heat or high heat settings, and my food has always come out the way the recipe intended. I just attempted, at this commenter's suggestion, to cook the 6 pieces on low heat for 4 hours...just checked my chicken, and the insides are all raw. If you hope to have any sort of success with this dish cooking it for 4 hours, you must use the high heat setting, not the low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I used boneless chicken breasts but will be making again with a whole chicken. Such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
OMG, this recipe is super easy and awesome! The meat does literally fall off, be careful taking the whole thing out as the meat just falls off. I take the legs off right from the pot then pick up the rest to take out. I pretty much followed it directly. BIG NOTE: I took some of the other's recommendations and used Sweet Bay Rays BBQ sauce (a definite), stuffed some rough cut chunks of an onion inside the cavity (for flavor), and to keep it from sitting completely in it's juices/grease I placed 3 large carrots on the bottom & rolled up some aluminum foil into balls to fill in some of the spaces where I thought it was needed to keep it raised more because the carrots do soften over the cooking and will drop the chicken down some (thus the foil balls) to keep it raised when this happens. I have made this several times and it is a permanent in my recipe box. I normally take the chicken out, pour the sauce throuh a mesh strainer & then put the sauce back in to crockpot, by then the chicken has cooled off enough so I can pull the meat off it entirely, shredding it up with my hands as I go along, and placing the meat back in the crockpot. Mix, keep on warm....and serve whenever as scoops of BBQ chicken or put on rolls for a sandwich (with slaw on top if you're from the south, LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is so awesome, here's what I did that differs from the original: I started preparing around noon, and I had a cut up whole chicken, close to four pours but not quite. I did put it on low at first, and then to high. I believe the crock pot you use dictations, in part, when your chicken is done by an hour or so. I also used ketchup in an attempt to kind of sweeten up my BBQ sauce a bit, and depending on the brand-this may or may not lend itself to thickening up the sauce. You could go a lot of ways with this I think, pairing fruit with the sauce and chicken, such as pineapple or even canned apple pie filling. Which, I didn't do due to the fact that my boyfriend doesn't like that much meddling with his chicken/meats in general. Overall, easy recipe and good too. Not spectacular, but I don't think it's at the fault of the recipe itself. You have to put your own spin on it to really liven it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Use boneless skinless chicken breasts. Tastes fantastic, and it doesn't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I put the two large split chicken breasts in the slow cooker, covered them with the barbecue sauce and added about a cup or two of water to the bottom and let it go for 8-9 hours like directed. When I pulled it out I picked all the skin and bones out, shredded it up with a fork and added more barbecue sauce and mixed it all up, served it with garlic toast, baked beans, and baked fries-- wonderful meal! I wouldn't overdo it with the barbecue sauce in the cooker, it's a waste because the chicken doesn't absorb it very much of the sauce anyways so I suggest adding more after it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States