Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I recognize this recipe from the Whole Foods for the Whole Family cookbook-- it has been a fall-back for our family for a long time! Great recipe for busy moms, especially if you're having a fussy baby day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabrinson
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Love this! It so easy...perfect for when I'm running out the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4Rmarvy
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made this yesterday for the first time. Raised the chicken up with a bag of frozen chopped onions, and a bunch of kumquats. :) I have read other reviewers say they used oranges or lemons, I had a bunch of kumquats, so that's what I used. It worked well! I added just enough chicken broth so as not to drown the kumquats, but wanted to make sure the chicken didn't dry out. It was very moist and tender, it was almost a little bland, but I poured some of the juices from the crock pot over it and added a touch of salt and it was delicious. The leftover meat will be excellent added to some other recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I rubbed the chicken down with a mixture of garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper, and rosemary. Then proceeded with recipe. Fair to midland results. It was as easy as it gets to cook though. Dump everything in the pot and fagetaboutit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was pretty good... simple and easy. I haven't been having much luck with my slow cooker and chicken lately, so I used breasts and cooked them in the oven at 350 for an hour. Will probably cut the time down to 45 min. next time as the chicken was just a tad over-cooked, but other than that, it went over well with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I used chicken breasts, 1/2 bottle of BBQ sauce, and some water. It came out really dry, more like a chicken jerky (if there's such a thing)! Flavor was alright, just the dryness and texture wasn't. Will use the chicken for sandwich and hope it goes better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This receipe with a 1/4C water was perfect. The meat was literally falling off the bone. It was a huge hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Easiest chicken I've ever fixed!! The meat was really juicy and tender and it was falling off the bones. But the BBQ sauce got all thin and watery and didn't really "stick" to the chicken, so it really lacked BBQ flavor. I think this would have been better with the chicken cut up. Will make again with boneless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe was great! I ended up using 1 1/2 bottles of Sweet Baby Rays Honey BBQ sauce instead of the suggested amount. The chicken fell off the bone. It was moist and delicious! I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I read the notes below. I used leg quarters. I put 1 sliced onion on the bottom before putting the chicken in the crock pot. I used 1/2 cup chicken broth & 1 wholt bottle of Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. I cooked it for 7 hours on low. The meat was falling off the bone, that I could not take it out of the pot whole. It was good, but next time I will try it with the bone-in breasts, to see if it hold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Sons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States