Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I didn't expect much out of this casserole but it actually turned out pretty good. I only used 3 chicken breasts and about half of the onion soup packet. I also used cream of broccoli soup in place of the cream of celery soup. Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Really easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I grew up with my mom making this meal and it is just too good! I have a very picky hubby so yes, I did make some modifications. First off I browned the chicken breasts in olive oil on high heat (just my preference), I only used cream of celery soup (he hates mushrooms), did not add the can of mushrooms, and used the veggie soup mix instead of the onion mix. Oh, I sprinkled seasoning salt on top before I baked it. It was a comforting meal on a cold rainy night, and best of all my picky guy loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I know this recipe as "Chicken Don't Peek"!! The best to use is bone-in chicken pieces-breasts and thighs work best. I use 3 cans of mushroom soup, with 1 3/4 cans of water poured around the chicken, to 2 cups of rice. I bake it in a greased roaster pan with lid. RESIST the urge to check on it!! Keep the oven closed for the entire time! I also increase the cooking time by about 15 mins. The rice is creamy, and the chicken is moist. If only they could make a reduced salt, onion soup mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Rice did not cook but overall taste was good- will used cooked rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was okay. I used another reviewer's suggestion and mixed everything together with chicen that I par-boiled first, but the dry onion soup mix was too much... and I didn't even use the whole thing. I thought it made the whole recipe taste like the soup mix. I would try it without the soup mix and add some veggies and maybe french-fried onions on top to give it some crunch. It tasted a little mushy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Photo by Beejazzeled
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a warm, cozy, comfort food made simple and easy. It looked and smelled appetizing as well. I added a little extra seasoning, thinking it would need it; a misjudgement on my part.(The soups are salty enough.) We ate and enjoyed regardless and my husband even went back for seconds. Next time, (and there will be a next time.)I will follow the recipe exactly. This would be great dish for a pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beejazzeled

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
WONDERFUL! My husband and I both work, so this was fast and easy. The end result was GREAT! I will make this again, and again...and WILL pass this to our friends and family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My family and I love this recipe, I did make some changes to it to adapt to my family's tastes. I didn't have cream of celery soup, so I substituted cream of chicken instead. I added one green bell pepper, diced, and one small onion diced to the rice mixture. I also added 1 minced garlic to the rice mixture. My family loved it. It was a great basic recipe that was easily changed to suit my family, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is very quick to prepare. We cut the recipe in half. Rather than use ½ can of two kinds of soup, we only used the mushroom soup. Also, we added chopped celery and carrots. I would definitely add the fresh veggies next time, and maybe switch to brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States