Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It's a mystery to me why this recipe is so highly rated. I consider myself a decent cook, and this was a total flop. First of all, the cooking time is off.. My rice was hard and crunchy after the noted time. I had to cook for an add'l 30 minutes on increased temp. Secondly, its so bland! There is absolutely NO flavor.. The rice absorbs all of the soup, and there is no flavor left. There is no creaminess- Its just mushy rice with chicken.. Sorry! I am staring at it trying to figure out how I am going to re-coop this dish for dinner... ( I even added extra bite size vegetables before cooking.. )- Just isn't working for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
why 3 stars? + convenient, easy to make, but B-L-A-N-D!!!!!! as written -- you'll need to jazz it up! Add LOTS more garlic powder or a couple minced garlic cloves, easy! Adding sauteed (or in a pinch, dried minced onion) is necessary, too. I'd also reccomend adding 1/2-3/4c milk to the mix. I liked the results of chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, pre-browning it in a pan & mixing the whole thing together & cooked for about 1 hr 15 min. Still, needs a lot more help to even become SATISFYING & Tastey. If you try to jazz it up, don't add a pinch of something, add a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was really great! My only complaint is that my white rice wasn't soft and fluffy like I prefer. It was actually still crunchy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Very tasty. Easy. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This dish was quite satisfying. I did alter the recipe a bit to suit my tastes. I used cream of chicken soup in place of cream of mushroom. Also, I used 1 1/2 cups of wild rice combined with 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup Pinot Blanc. The whole family enjoyed this casserole, even our persnickety 10-year old! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I was trying to use up some pantry items before they expired and stumbled upon this recipe. The end result was pretty good and filling. I only had 4 breasts and 2 thighs, so that it was I used, and that actually worked well because I think it would've been too much chicken compared to the amount of rice if I'd used 8 breasts. To get this dish on the table quicker, I would used already cooked rice and cooked and cubed/shredded chicken, throw everything together in the baking dish and bake just long enough to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My family LOVES this recipe. I have been making it for about 5 years now and they love it every time. I am making it today in my restaurant for the second time and last time I got rave reviews. The flavors really mix well together. I also fix lunch daily for a group of men and they frequently request this recipe. I make it as is with no substitutions. Good job, Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
comfort food at it's best, You got to love a recipe that is just all thrown together and when it's done makes your taste buds sing, the only part I changed is I used a whole chicken.... It makes the recipe much cheaper and when your feeding a family of five the cheaper the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasty1980

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this last week and my hubby wanted me to pick up the stuff to make it again. He LOVED it and he is a little on the picky side. He said it was better the next night reheated in the microwave at work. He said he thinks it was better than the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlastein0418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this dish, and after about an hour in the oven the rice was not done. I added a cup of water, and the dish turned out great. Not sure what all the bad reviews are about. Family loved it, and easy for me to make with a family of 6!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States