Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
True comfort food. Thanks, Carol! Kudos & 5 stars because it's that good just as written! You can trust this over and over again, and come up with ways to just make it "yours". The key to success is covering it so it's airtight. NO PEEKING. I recommend using whole chicken breasts for this and for any chicken dish that's not being used in a sandwich; just remove the skin & the fat. Simply pull it off, no big deal. The flavor that comes from using meat on the bones is going to blow your mind. Boneless, skinless meat of any kind is a loser in flavorland. We always have to pile on something for flavor; am I right? Bones are good in baking, roasting, grilling, stewing, every manor of cooking meat; fat is incorrect. Let me know if you agree. I substitute wine for half the water called for, sometimes just 1/3. I'm not a wine snob, either. I admit to keeping "cooking wine" in my fridge and using it, especially Cooking Sherry. Just get some into the mix and you'll be amazed. I also recommend using only half the onion soup mix because it's so flippin' salty. There's plenty of flavor in using half that stuff in ANY recipe that calls for it. It's good stuff though, no doubt about it. If I'm out of the onion soup mix, I use a splash Soy Sauce or liquid smoke, maybe some Worcestershire or Kitchen Bouquet & hit it with smoked Paprkia, which is great with the wine I add. There's tons of wiggle room in every recipe. This recipe from Carol is elegant enough for company. All American!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was pretty good and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly. I did use low sodium soup for the mushroom but couldn't find it for the celery. The only thing I changed was to use lean loin chops instead of chicken. I thought it was a little salty and would probably cut out the onion soup next time but I loved the creamy rice. Will make again! Thanks! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I skipped the garlic & pepper, but used 1 cup Fat Free/Low Sodium chicken broth instead of water. This made for a rich chicken flavor through/out the dish. I also cooked it for 2-1/2 hours, allowing the rice to soak up more flavor and to cook completely. Chicken was nice and moist. This dish received rave reviews by family who is familiar with the dish as listed per recipe. They claimed it was much better with my alterations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Love this recipe. It's so easy to make and turns out delicious. I add a 1/4 tsp of Thyme to mine and real garlic (one clove).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Not good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Quick to put togehter but definitely not exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was great, easy prep and clean up. I am sure that it is good just the way it is. Being a farm wife and mother of 4 I don't always have everything I need when it comes time to wip supper up and we live 20 min from the store. So here is what I did. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom 1 can of chicken gravy, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tea of mustard (I seen on another review) Brown rice I did not have instant so I cooked it about 3/4 of the way first, I only used about 3/4 of onion soup mix a pinch of garlic pinch of salt 1/2 tea hot shot pepper and after 45 min I pulled the foil off and added 2 cups of cheddar cheese baked another 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Missouri, USA
Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
It was good, but a bit bland. I changed it by doubling the rice, using 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. This kept everything moist. I also used 1/2 tsp each of lemon pepper, garlic salt (with parsley) and 1/4 tsp of black pepper. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was ok. The onion soup mix made it way too salty and I thought the taste was overwhelming. I have better 'go to' recipes that work well on busy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It's a mystery to me why this recipe is so highly rated. I consider myself a decent cook, and this was a total flop. First of all, the cooking time is off.. My rice was hard and crunchy after the noted time. I had to cook for an add'l 30 minutes on increased temp. Secondly, its so bland! There is absolutely NO flavor.. The rice absorbs all of the soup, and there is no flavor left. There is no creaminess- Its just mushy rice with chicken.. Sorry! I am staring at it trying to figure out how I am going to re-coop this dish for dinner... ( I even added extra bite size vegetables before cooking.. )- Just isn't working for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States