Busy Day Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This recipe was quite tasty and really simple to make. I only had 1/2 of a package of onion soup mix on hand, so I used that instead of a whole pkg and I mixed it in with the rice mixture as another reviewer suggested. Turned out great and had just enough flavor. Next time I make this, I will probably only used 1/2 package again. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as stated. It was very, very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was good. I added a bit more then a pinch of garlic powder and it gave it an underlined odd flavor but it was still good. I mix my onion soup mix in with my rice mixture that is just me I think it makes the flavor better. I also used instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I really love this recipe because it's easy to cook and "make your own". I'm just not a fan of the onion soup mix, but my husband thought it that the one time I added the soup mix produced the best chicken rice casserole I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshyne1922

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great! So easy! I did not have the mushrooms so didn't add them. But I did add a bag of frozen mixed vegtables and Fried onion rings on top! Wonderful! All here loved it which is amazing as some do not like casseroles. This is a keeper and I have already passed it on to my future daughter-in-law to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was so easy to make and very delicious. My family and I loved it!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a dish I've been making since I first moved out on my own. Extremely comforting and can be doubled/tripled depending on who shows up to your home to feed. You can also make this with two cans of tuna or leftover turkey. Any soup you have on hand'll work as well. Have leftover cooked veggies from the night before, throw 'em in! A rind of cheese you need to use? What the heck, throw that in, too. I add in just a spoonful of sour cream for a little creamier taste/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I'm giving this recipe a five not because if prepared as is, it would be excellent, but because it is a great base recipe for chicken and rice. I've toyed with chicken and rice for a long time, with mixed results. This recipe made a great base recipe to which one should add ingredients that they like. I added some broccoli, cheddar cheese, and a ritz cracker crust to the top of mine. Our family enjoyed it and I liked the taste of the onion soup mix. This will be my base recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes... I seared & seasoned my chicken breast b4 I cut them up, used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of celery soup, the onion soup packet and 1/2 way cooked my rice so that it wouldn't used up all of the liquid, cut the cooking time in half & about 15 mins before it was done i sprinkled bread crumbs on top and drizzled some melted butter... the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. I did a few things differently: I only used 4 chicken breasts and I sprinkled half of the soup mix over the chicken and the other half, I mixed into the rice mix. I think that distributed the sodium of the soup better, it wasn't too salty at all...I also used lower sodium mushroom soup, so that helped. I baked the whole thing for 75 minutes and the chicken came out perfect and the rice was done on the verge of being a little overdone. This was so simple and I will definitely make again when I don't feel like cooking but can't afford to eat out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was really good, and very quick to put together. I made a couple of changes (who doesn't?) I used chicken breast tenders and pre-cooked my rice to reduce the cooking time. Even so, it seemed a little dry to me, so I added some milk to the rice/soup/soup mix mixture to thin it out a bit, and grated some Gouda cheese on top. It was a big hit with my daughter's fiance, who LOVES anything made with rice. One warning...you will have some WICKED onion breath the next day, due to the onion soup mix. Since we'd all eaten the same thing, nobody in my family cared, but I wouldn't want to go out in public too soon after eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States