Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this with a 2 pound brisket, otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was excellent! Shredded beef, then stirred it back into sauce. Served on toasted slider buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Bobbi
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Just made this tonight, it really was delicious. My only problem was that it came out a bit dry. My brisket was first cut (already lean to begin with), just under 3lbs, and I cooked it on low in the slow cooker for 8 hours exactly. Next time I will use second cut for a juicer result. The flavour was fantastic (I used Diana Sauce, honey garlic) and I can't wait to have it in a challah roll for lunch tomorrow! I also seared the sides in a bit of oil prior to putting it in the slow cooker, made for some really nice edges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I am looking forward to making this, as it is the first time I have seen a recipe that had no changes in the first 4 reviews...Must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The basic idea is sound, but for best flavor the meat should be seared on all sides before slow cooking. Another reviewer said searing makes it easier, yet another said that couldn't be and just added a step. I've made this, and other beef recipes in a slow cooker and searing is needed, otherwise you just have boiled beef with spices. BTW, liquid smoke IS NOT Necessary, and the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) is investigating the safety of liquid smoke as a food flavoring as being possibly carcinogenic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Also, this recipe was fantastic! I didn't change a thing, and will definitely add this to my slow cooker recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
What an easy way to do BBQ. The whole family liked this recipe. It was a little bit spicy, will cut back on the cayenne pepper next time for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Great recipe even without the liquid smoke, which I didn't want to bother trying to find. The meat gets nice and tender, and the spice rub gives the flavor a kick. I need to try it with potatoes so we don't waste so much of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I have never given a recipe on this site 1 star, because I usually don't even try something if it doesn't get at least 4 stars from other reviewers. However, this recipe was a huge disappointment. I have gone over everything several times to see if I made a mistake somewhere, but cannot find anything I did differently than the recipe indicates. Not a single person in my family liked this and we did something we almost never do, we actually just threw it away. Perhaps just personal preference, but I cannot recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have never had brisket in my life before and this recipe is super easy and comes out EXACTLY as it says it will! If you don't like spicy, be careful, it's a doozy :) Seriously though, I was hesitant because I felt brisket was expensive - and I had never made it before, but it turned out great. This was a perfect starter recipe for a new brisket maker, thanks Shannon I really appreciate you sharing it! I should note that I DID rub the liquid smoke and dry spices in the night before - as suggested, it really was good. Going to eat the left overs tomorrow with a cool cucumber salad, as this was one hot dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Good stuff!!! However, I found the rub to make the brisket a little too salty for my taste. It was done in 6 hours, so I sliced it and tossed it back in under WARM. Thanks for a good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States