Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This dessert was a BIG hit with the kids (and the adults!!) And with me being an ice-cream freak, I was in heaven!! This dessert will definitely yield 20 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
How could this not be good??!? This was a DUTCH favorite (As my church friends and family called it) in my hometown, Bellflower, CA. Add a half cup peanut butter to chocolate mix for more peanut taste. Buy mocha ice cream for mud pie taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
My whole family loved these.I will be sure to make them again.It's the perfect summer day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Very wonderful summertime treat! But rich! Have a glass of milk close by. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This was AWESOME! Made this for a BBQ and it was a huge hit! Tasted just like DQ's Peanut Buster Bars. Definately adding this recipe to my "pot luck favourites".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Really a great and easy recipe! YUM. I substitute spanish peanuts so it is even more similar to a dairy queen peanut buster parfait. My mouth is watering just thinking of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Awesome. I made this in a 9" springform pan and I layered the crust, ice cream, some fudge topping, then ice cream, peanuts, and the remainder of the fudge topping. I will never buy a $14 ice cream cake again. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
We absolutely loved this desert! I used chips ahoy sandwich cookies and light vanilla ice cream. Next time I'm going to experiment with different kinds of ice cream. I couldn't believe how easy this was to put together. This is a perfect desert for a summer bbq. It's a keeper, thanks Ginny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I needed a fancy homemade cake, but my oven has broken down and this recipe came to the rescue. I did alter it, however. I used a 10 inch round pan, made extra crust and pressed it up the sides, doubled the ice cream (using chocolate and vanilla swirled together), I mixed chopped M&M's in with the vanilla icecream only, put one layer of ice cream, one of peanuts and one of fudge sauce, another ice cream layer, peanuts, sauce, then one more ice cream layer. I topped it off with this recipe: 2 cups cream, 1 cup icing sugar, 1/2t vanilla 1/2 cup cocoa beaten together and piped on the top. Spectacular dessert. Once cut the fudge layer seems to ooze out so I pressed cardboard against the sides of the leftover cake and that did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
5 star recipe, but REALLY rich.Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States