Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Just like my grandma's recipe! Don't use anything smaller than a 9x13 pan, though -- I used an 8x10 because it was the only one clean. The chocolate didn't set up well because it was too thick.... but it still had the perfect flavor! I used as many peanuts as I could cram on there, too, the more the better. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Very tasty. The crust is a tad too thick tho. So next time I make it I will use less. I also agree that Spanish peanuts make a big difference. I topped my crust with caramel topping. All in all it was super duper tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Absolutely wonderful, it was enjoyed by all. Very flavorful and easy to make and eat! This recipe is a keeper, thanks alot GVANDERHEY for a great recipe! I used a springform pan and it dished out very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Awesome, the only change I would make is to either add a bit more ice cream or cut back a bit on the fudge. it was very heavy - but unreal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Another new dessert to make again and again! It was very good. All I did different was to cut down on the powdered sugan in the chocolate layer. There was no one who did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a great dessert everyone loved it!!! Next time I will do a layer of caramel for a Snicker Bar taste. It is worth making your own hot fudge, it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Great recipe. I served the peanuts on the side since we were serving it to young children. I liked it that way because then I could top mine with fresh fruit, which I wouldn't have enjoyed as much if it had had the peanuts in it. Will make this again and will be fun to experiment with different ice cream flavors, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Excellent icecream dessert. I followed the exact recipe but added cool whip on top sprinkled with cookie crumbs to complete. I will never buy a dairy queen icecream cake again. This is just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
WOW! Yummy! We loved this. It was so easy to make and is so good and rich! This fudge sauce is so good - I think I'll be making this to have to put over ice cream. We had it last night and tonight at dinner we were already commenting we couldn't wait to have dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
HUGE hit. Huge. Unequivocally the star of the show. This dessert brought grown men to their knees. Never mind dinner, I could have served this and this alone and I think everyone would have been happy. Hubs had requested I make an ice cream dessert for our Memorial Day cook-out and I was less than enthusiastic. None of the recipes really tripped my trigger, but I finally settled on this one, I guess because it called for something homemade and not processed - the fudge. Sure, you could take the easy way out and use a jarred fudge sauce but this was so easy to make it's not really worth it to take the shortcut. I wasn't expecting much from this dessert. After all, it's basically just a hot fudge sundae, right? WRONG. This stuff is good - awesome good. Just a few cookie crumbs, some ice cream, fudge, peanuts and some whipped topping, but man, put them all together and you've got a dessert that everyone loved and that truly made a dinner get-together finale memorable. None of us knew what a Buster Bar was, but all agreed this was "D good." This was the first, but not nearly the last, time I'll be making this. Other than using butter rather than margarine, I followed the recipe exactly, but thought the dessert would look a little naked so I topped it with Cool Whip and sprinkled it with more Oreo cookie crumbs. (One other bonus - the crust actually comes out of the pan intact!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States