Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was outstanding! It was easy to make, and surprisingly easy to cut even though it was frozen. It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
While I haven't eaten this as a whole, I tasted each of the components and it's going to be amazing! (I made it for a dessert menu special at work and couldn't cut into it quite yet.) The fudge sauce is KILLER!! Paired with a tasty oreo crust and delicious vanilla bean ice cream, how could this not be an awesome treat?! A great treat for a hot summer day! This fudge sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Delicious! I have to stop myself from eating it or I'll get sick. We used a cheap "store brand" ice cream and I would recommend splurging on the good stuff, because the recipe is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Holy Cow!!! This was served to a group of 20+ people, and everyone just raved. The chocolate layer is just decadent! I think when I make it again (and I definately *will* be making it again) I will chop the peanuts, otherwise, simply a perfect summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is my go to option when I need to bring a dessert. I make it in 2 9 inch premade chocolate crumb pie crusts to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was awesome. My husband is hoping it is on the menu every weekend. I didn't have evaporated milk and substituted 6 oz heavy cream and 6 oz 2% milk. Also used butter in place of margarine. The chocolate syrup was delicious (definite keeper) and will be used in other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goodview, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have to say that this was good, but with the overwhelmingly excellent reviews I was really expecting something more. I liked how easy the recipe was. I did use butter instead of margarine, so perhaps that made the difference, although I find that I generally prefer butter in a recipe over margarine. I think it should be pointed out that with the chocolate sauce (and maybe this is only true if you use real butter), you should spoon the chocolate out onto the top of the peanuts, avoiding dumping the leftover oil onto it. The oil acts as a great lubricant so that the chocolate doesn't stick to the pot, but what little oil got onto my dessert gave it an undesirable "glazed" looking effect upon serving. As I said, the taste was fine, but it's not "the best dessert I've ever eaten". I'd make this again, certainly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy The Magnificent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Just had this for a birthday party. It was a huge hit! The crust was a little hard to cut but tasted yummy! Very chocolaty & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is absolutely phenomenal! This goes way beyond a sundae. I gave some to the neighbors and they were still telling me how great it was a week later! In the picture it looks as though she added whipped cream to the top, even though that wasn't in the recipe. I tried it and it was delicious, although I didn't really think it was necessary. This dessert is seriously heavenly. I ate about half the pan by myself! I wish that was a joke, but it isn't. You HAVE to give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Wow super rich! I couldn't finish my piece- and I have a huge sweet tooth! I used a spring form pan. After making the fudge sauce I poured it into two bowls and put about 3 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter into one. I added the cooled chocolate fudge to the chilled oreo crust, put it back in the fridge for an hour, added the ice cream, then put the spanish peanuts and peanut butter chocolate fudge on top. Next time I'll halve the fudge (but still add the peanut butter!) if I use the spring form pan and use fewer oreos (I took the icing out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States