Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
HUGE hit. Huge. Unequivocally the star of the show. This dessert brought grown men to their knees. Never mind dinner, I could have served this and this alone and I think everyone would have been happy. Hubs had requested I make an ice cream dessert for our Memorial Day cook-out and I was less than enthusiastic. None of the recipes really tripped my trigger, but I finally settled on this one, I guess because it called for something homemade and not processed - the fudge. Sure, you could take the easy way out and use a jarred fudge sauce but this was so easy to make it's not really worth it to take the shortcut. I wasn't expecting much from this dessert. After all, it's basically just a hot fudge sundae, right? WRONG. This stuff is good - awesome good. Just a few cookie crumbs, some ice cream, fudge, peanuts and some whipped topping, but man, put them all together and you've got a dessert that everyone loved and that truly made a dinner get-together finale memorable. None of us knew what a Buster Bar was, but all agreed this was "D good." This was the first, but not nearly the last, time I'll be making this. Other than using butter rather than margarine, I followed the recipe exactly, but thought the dessert would look a little naked so I topped it with Cool Whip and sprinkled it with more Oreo cookie crumbs. (One other bonus - the crust actually comes out of the pan intact!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Awesome. I made this in a 9" springform pan and I layered the crust, ice cream, some fudge topping, then ice cream, peanuts, and the remainder of the fudge topping. I will never buy a $14 ice cream cake again. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
THE BEST! I will never go to DQ again for this! I crushed one package of Oreos in a plastic wrapper and the cream filling stuck to the sides...so I threw the bag in the freezer for 5 minutes and rubbed the two sides together and the cream filling fell right out! I used milk choc. chips and it tasted awesome...definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was a huge hit with my family. I poured the chocolate sauce on too early so it did not layer..but rather melted the ice cream a bit....but the taste was delicious. Just wait till the topping is all the way cooled down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Really a great and easy recipe! YUM. I substitute spanish peanuts so it is even more similar to a dairy queen peanut buster parfait. My mouth is watering just thinking of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
How could this not be good??!? This was a DUTCH favorite (As my church friends and family called it) in my hometown, Bellflower, CA. Add a half cup peanut butter to chocolate mix for more peanut taste. Buy mocha ice cream for mud pie taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was yummy. My only suggestion is to take it out of the freezer about 15 to 20 minutes before serving. Otherwise, it is just too hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is OK, but really so rich. No one could finish their portion, I would cut them small! I made the mistake of not letting the chocolate sauce cool enough before I poured it over the ice cream. SO the top of the ice cream melted a little and came up through the chocolate sauce. Did not change the taste, just didn't look attractive. Make sure to let the sauce cool, I would make that first next time. I really don't think I would make this again though, just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Pozniak
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and layered this in a 9" springform pan (crust, ice cream, fudge sauce, ice cream, peanuts, fudge sauce.) It looked fabulous and it tasted great. Only 4 stars, though, as the fudge sauce seemed to be missing something. Next time I will use 6 oz. of good quality semi-sweet chocolate instead of chocolate chips. Am eager to make this for company now that I've done a "test-run"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Loved the combination of all the textures and flavors. The crunch of the peanuts was so great, the richness of the chocolate topping, the crunch of the oreo crust, and creamy ice cream. I did take the advice of others and added more vanilla ice cream and was glad I did. I couldn't stop thinking about having a piece, until it was gone! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States