Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This dessert was super easy and tastes awesome. I put it in a 10" springform pan which I lightly greased as others had suggested. I used slightly less ice cream than the recipe called for and reserved some of the cookie crumbs to sprinkle on top of the ice cream along with the peanut. It was easy to cut and remove from the pan after setting out for 10 minutes. I plan on making more of the fusge sauce to keep in the fridge as this is way better than any store bought fudge sauce. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is so good, didnt change a thing except added more ice cream. Took advice of another reviewer, and made the sauce first, so it had time to cool. It does taste like a buster bar. This is a keeper.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this dessert yesterday for my brother's birthday, and everyone licked the plates!! I didn't do any changes or substitutes - and found the top chocolate sauce to be a little too sweet. I will be making this dessert again next Saturday for a family barbeque and the only thing I'll do differently will be cutting down the sugar to half cup, I think. But that's obviously my taste of sweetness! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarxien, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe! I made it for a get together, and we all thought we would have a bite of it before lunch......well, it turned out to be our lunch! Eveyone at two huge pieces, and skipped lunch! Worth every minute, and the fudge sauce tastes just like DQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
The teenage boys in my house loved this dessert. I"LL be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookland, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The first time I made this recipe, I modified slightly due to ingredients I had on hand. I used three sleeves of Girl Scout Thin Mints for the cookie base (two sleeves = one box seemed just lighter than I wanted), and I did not use nuts. I made the mistake of not boiling the topping for the full 8 minutes, so it never thickened properly and ran slightly after I sliced the dessert. The second time I made this, I was all out of cookies, so I made a basic brownie in a 9 x 13 pan, but then cut out a 8" circle from there to set as a base in a springform pan like others recommnended using. I then topped the cooled brownie with chocolate mint ice cream, and took the remaining brownie scraps that were left from the cutout and broke them up to peanut size and sprinkled those over the ice cream. I them made sure I boiled the topping for 9 minutes, to be safe, and topped it off. I froze it for 24 hours before serving. It was extremely rich and absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was easy to make and it was the perfect desert for a hot day. I served it very frozen and found that the crust was a bit too hard to cut so the next time I would cut down on the amount of cookies to make the crust thinner. I would also recommend making sure that the ice cream is very frozen when assembling this cake - I let mine soften to make slicing it easier but it turned out a tad too melted. Also, make sure that the fudge topping layer is very chilled or else it will melt your ice cream when you spread it. I hope those tips help - this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is an outstanding ice cream dessert that really does taste like a Buster Bar from DQ! I did a slight modification by using a 9 inch springform pan rather than the 9 x 13 baking dish. Instead of slicing the ice cream into slabs, just let it soften to the point you can easily scoop it into the springform and spread it in. Then you put it back into the freezer just until it's set up so you can sprinkle on the peanuts and chocolate sauce. The dessert will be very tall...about 2.5 inches...so it looks like you bought one of those fancy ice cream cakes, but didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My neighbor gives this 10 stars. She tells everyone about this dessert that I make and now everyone calls it "The Dessert" and I get asked to bring it to parties. If I could rate it higher, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was easy and so YUMMY! I think this will become a traditional summer dessert for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States