Buster Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was an excellent frozen dessert. Guests at my dessert buffet gobbled it down quickly. For their more complex palates, I used Starbucks Cappucino Ice cream rather than vanilla. I also had a dab of coconut and some toasted pecans that I placed in the food processor with the butter and chocolate cookie wafers. This addition added a nice texture to the crust. Thanks Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is like a pumped up version of a peanut buster parfait from DQ! I made this for my son's 3rd birthday, and I am still getting requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
this is my recipe and I have tweeked it over the years to using homemade stabilized whipped cream in place of cool whip and making my hot fudge with fat free evaporated milk giving it a healther kick. Next on my want to do list is make my own ice cream for buster bar! Glad so many enjoy this treat as much as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brtek-Gagner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fosston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mentor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
WOW! We have alot of birthdays in a row so I decided to try this in lieu of a birthday cake. It was a huge hit. If you love Dairy Queen's Buster Bars or Peanut Buster Parfaits this is for you! I'd give it more than 5 stars if possible, my kids loved it and it was so much more refreshing than boring birthday cake! Thanks a bunch, will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Just like a Buster Bar! This is sooooo good! You can cheat and use hot fudge sauce from a jar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This tastes just like the original! I didn't have any cookies so I used chocolate graham wafer crumbs, mixed with margarine and a little bit of sugar for the bottom. The taste just didn't fit, I'm sure it would've been fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I thought this recipe was just OK. I'm not a huge nut fan to begin with, so I would cut the peanuts by a 1/3 or 1/2 on top. The hot fudge topping is delicious. I think if I were to do it over again, I would make 1 1/2 times the hot fudge of what the recipe calls for. However, I think there's better desserts out there. I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I absolutely love this dessert. Only problem is, I open the freezer door if it isn't all gone and make myself sick by eating it. The chocolate, the nuts, the ice cream - what could be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Jamul, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
WARNING! You'll want to make one of these just for you to consume all by yourself! The fudge part tastes EXACTLY like what you'll find at your local DQ, I could drink it!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Wow! I made this for a potluck this weekend and I was the star! I even used low fat evaporated milk and fat free cool whip. This did not adversely affect the taste at all... Not a bite remained and I have many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Anderson Kuhn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States