Buster Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This has been my son's birthday dessert for over 30 years. Now the grandkids are asking for it. Truly a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is quite possibly the best dessert ever. Followed the recipe exactly. On top, added some carmel sauce and some chopped peanuts. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! I made this for Easter and everyone loved it. It tasted very similar to a DQ Peanut Buster Parfait, which was always one of my favorites. I agree with other reviewers that it could have been a little fudgier. I didn't put Cool Whip on top, because I didn't think it was necessary and wouldn't be appetizing frozen. I'm sure I'll make this again, especially in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Wow! This is absolutely amazing! I will tell you what I did with this recipe...I made the fudge sauce as directed and it was out of this world amazing! I made my own homemade vanilla ice cream instead of using store-bought. I then cut the rest of the recipe down to fit in a springform pan. The fudge sauce in the recipe alone is a keeper. Don't forget the spanish roasted peanuts! I found Planter's Roasted Spanish Peanuts w/Sea Salt at my local grocery store. I was also able to spread out each layer on top of another without having the freeze into between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I thought this was good but not great. Everyone really liked it, but I think I must have done something wrong. Maybe I added too much butter to my Oreos or something but my cookie crust got so hard and would not come out of the pan! Even after letting it sit out for a bit to soften up. Any suggestions on this problem would be great! I also think I would reduce the amount of ice cream -- but that's just a personal preference. The fudge is wonderful and it combined with the peanuts is awesome! I didn't even add the whipped cream because I didn't think it really needed it. I will make again but may try adding less butter to my crust. I used light margarine so that may have been part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent. Might have layered with less ice cream and since I love peanuts, I would have added more peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Made this for my mother-in-law for her birthday this week. Her favorite dessert is a buster bar at Dairy Queen. This dessert tasted like a buster bar. My husband said it reminded him of an ice cream Twix bar. I will definitely be making this recipe again. It has been saved in my recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great dessert recipe! I didn't have the cookie crust, so I pounded some chocolate cheerios, and they worked great. I think cookies would work well too, so use what you have. The fudge sauce is runny--not firm--until frozen, so don't let that throw you off - if you used regular fudge, it will be too hard when frozen. I skipped the whipped topping because I thought it had enough going on, and I used regular peanut crumbs. Fabulous - try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Five stars for ease and rave reviews from family and guests. Next time, I might add more chocolate chips to make the fudge sauce "fudgier." It wasn't as fudgey as I had hoped it would be. Otherwise, it was very good and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this for a group of friends and everybody loved it. One of them said it tasted better than Dairy Queen! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States