Buster Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
OH YUM! I didn't realize that I was out of evaporated milk, so I had to use 2%, which worked out great. Also, I subbed chocolate ice cream for the vanilla b/c I'm not a fan. I think I may have used more nuts than called for as well. This was simple to put together, but it seemed like it took forever b/c of the wait between each layer...it was worth the extra time. Hubby raved over this! Will def make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great and easy dessert. I used two Oreo pie crusts. This way we left one in the freezer until we needed it. I also used sweetened condensed milk and decease the amount of confectioners sugar. This one is a keeper. Thanks Rochele**99
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Just like Dairy Queen peanut buster parfait. Now, that I know how to make the chocolate icing, will be switching it up to butterscotch and peanut butter flavour. And freezes very well and can last along time in the freezer - no need to rush through this dessert - can save some for next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlene
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
All the neighbors loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is absolutely delicious!! I had my parents over for dinner and served this. They loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Absolutely fabulous. A real crowd pleaser. And super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
While I haven't eaten this as a whole, I tasted each of the components and it's going to be amazing! (I made it for a dessert menu special at work and couldn't cut into it quite yet.) The fudge sauce is KILLER!! Paired with a tasty oreo crust and delicious vanilla bean ice cream, how could this not be an awesome treat?! I used dry roasted nuts since I didn't have Spanish nuts on hand, and I think it will work, though I know Spanish peanuts is more traditional for this Dairy Queen dessert replica. A great treat for a hot summer day! This fudge sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A hit - complete with an awesome wow factor (despite my slight technical issue with serving the dessert ;) ) Very easy to prepare, and I followed the recipe completely. Also, I used Cool Whip and had no issues with taste or flavour what so ever. It behaved very well and complimented the dessert well. The peanuts work beautifully as well (sort of like a hidden surprise!!). Next time, for the fudge sauce, I'd like to sub the evaporated milk for condensed milk and adjust the sugar accordingly coz I'm not so fond of evaporated milk. Also, next time I want to be sure to 'completely' crush the oreo biscuits and perhaps add less butter to avoid the situation I had with getting the base out of the pan (which I must confess was my fault completely :) ). Thank you ROCHELE_99 you've given me an aboslutely wonderful dessert to mesmerize people with for years to come! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This has been my son's birthday dessert for over 30 years. Now the grandkids are asking for it. Truly a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is quite possibly the best dessert ever. Followed the recipe exactly. On top, added some carmel sauce and some chopped peanuts. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States