Buster Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is very tasty. My guests loved it! One tip, buy 1/2 gallon box of ice cream, open the package completely and simply slice the ice cream into 1 inch thick pieces and lay them over your crust. No softening of the ice cream required! Which means you can spread your fudge sauce immediately! Makes the entire assembly process much faster. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Just made this and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I wanted to cut down the calories and size for the 2 of us; so used one ready-made Oreo crust and Hershey's fudge sauce and about half the amount of other ingredients. Easy and good! The ready made crust comes with a lid that you can invert and put on top which makes it so easy to store the dessert in the freezer or take to a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Review of item as written: Needed a make-ahead option for hosting a dinner in a location with limited facilities. This dessert is very durable for transport & of course, being frozen, keeps well. Made it twice now with good results both times. Divergences, suggestions: Make sauce first, allow to cool. Soften ice cream, layer on crust, press chopped nut layer in while soft. Put in freezer until hard-set, then spread fudge sauce over top & sprinkle with any additional nuts as desired. (This prevents layers blending/rising/etc.) Subbing sweetened condensed milk for the evap + sugar works & eliminates the boiling process. A brownie or cookie base is a nice alternative to the crumb crust. Additional chopped peanuts on top of the fudge layer are pretty. Other flavor combos to consider are caramel/cashew, butterscotch/pecan, chocolate/pretzel, marshmallow/walnut instead of fudge/peanut. Alternative ice cream flavors can also introduce variety. Good recipe as presented, tremendous capacity for variation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this dessert over the weekend and I always try to lighten up the fat and calories when I can. I used 1 can fat free evaporated milk and used light frozen whipped cream. I also used 1/2 can of a 12 oz Emerald Brand Toffee Almonds crushed on half of the dessert and no spanish peanuts. I did stick with premium Vanilla Bean ice cream, 1.5 quarts. Everyone raved about it and I will definitely make it again! Thank you Rochele for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delish! I made this for my husband for Father's Day and left off the whipped topping layer, as he isn't a huge fan. That way he could add it later if he wanted, which he didn't (but I did!). It is AMAZING good. Next time I will make a half recipe in an 8x8, because I might seriously eat most of the pan. And that will not be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used cocktail peanuts instead of Spanish (didn't want the red skins). I thought, given the amounts of ingredients, that it would last forever...nope. This dessert is phenomenal, so make it when you are planning to splurge. Neither myself, nor my family could stay out of the freezer! Enough said. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made this for my family and they told me it might be the best dessert I have ever made. It was simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was delicious. Go the extra mile and make the fudge sauce its so much better than the store stuff! DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wow, this dessert is amazing!! Takes a while to assemble, but well woth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States