BUSH'S® Best Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Next time, I'm making it without the tomato paste - would be much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Ugh. There is so much tomato flavor in this you can't taste anything else. NOT even close to traditional red beans and rice I've had in restaurants. Try again Bush's Best. I'm a huge fan of your product, but you need to revisit this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This was really good. Next time, though, I think I'll mix the tomato paste with the liquid from the beans before adding to the sausage & beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This recipe was above average. We will keep it with a little tweaking. Husband and I both thought not enough beans or sausage. Next time, we will add more. Overall, husband thought it was about the best he's ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I messed with this recipe a little bit. I used uncooked hot italian sausage and browned it as a first step. I also used plain canned tomatoes and added dried basil after the fact. It came out excellent! My husband loved it, and he's a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
My family loves this recipe...Very Good source of protein....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very good and hearty! I omitted one can of diced tomatoes, and used only 1/2 the tomato paste. I also substituted ground sausage, and it was wonderful. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBSHEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Centreville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Outside of New Orleans this is the best Red Beans and Rice recipe I have found. I only had kabasi which is not hot, but added some hot sauce and it was very good. Next time I will us Chirizo as I have been able to find the antouille sausage here. Excuse the spelling, My husband really liked this too, and was not crazy about the others I had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This is an awesome recipe but I did a little changing. I only used one can of diced tomatoes and only two cans of the beans. I also used turkey kielbasa. Everything else was the same and it was fantastic! It was tomatoey but very good. Great flavor. Plus it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I was dissapointed when I tried this recipe. It was way too tomato tasting. I actually questioned putting in the tomato paste and should have paid more attention to my intuition. I found myself adding water and straining it to get rid of "Chile" taste. After fixing it up a bit by adding Sazon and more Cumin, my boyfriend loved it. Next time I will strain the diced tomatoes and not add the paste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States