Burrito Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Omg this pie is soooooo good! I halved the recipe and used leftover chicken from the Easy Cheesy Chicken recipe on allrecipes instead of ground beef. I heated up the chicken in the skillet, then added an onion and one clove garlic, and then mixed in 3/4 can black olives, 1/2 can green chiles, whole can rotel, and 3oz taco sauce. I used a 2.5 qt casserole dish and layered my casserole as follows: chicken mixture, shredded Mexican cheese, tortillas (with refrained beans spread on) bean side down. I repeated that twice. On top I had a layer of chicken mixture, refried beans, 1/4 can black olives, and cheese. Baked it for about 27 minutes and it was amazing. Will definitely be making this again but next time will try ground beef. Next time I will also have to make 2 separate pies bc my picky husband doesn't like any of the veggie ingredients. I'm sure I used more cheese than called since I just sprinkled it over each layer. Great recipe!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Love this!!! One of my family's favorite! Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Followed this recipie exactly - only thing I did was half the ingredients so it would fit in a 9x13 pan. I Totally understand the importance of adding the refried beans in the meat mixture - it's a thickening agent. Served with a little sour cream and salsa- sooo good. Hubby and I ate half the pan. Thanks for sharing!!!! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this recipe today but did not have everything I needed to go exactly as written, however it was really good!! I used green enchilda sauce instead of the taco sauce, a can of whole kernel corn instead of the black olives, only 1 can of refried beans and I used hot green chilies for a little punch! I also added about 1 tsp. (give or take a little) garlic salt, black pepper and season salt...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurice Orler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was great! Followed closely except forgot to get 2nd can of refrained beans so used one can black beans. Someone said to simmer ingredients long enough. That is right on...comes all together nicely and not too runny..will make this again. I have an oval glass casserole dish which was perfect!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My family did not like this. It just turned out to be a soggy pile of mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Easy & tasty! A little on the hot side - we eliminated the green chilies and that made a great difference for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved it! I forgot taco sauce at the store and used a jar of salsa in place of diced tomatoes. It was delicious! I made it in 2 deep dish pie plates and still had 3 tortillas leftover. I think next time I'll double layer the tortillas in between the layers. I might also do this in a casserole dish instead of the pie plates. Either way my husband and I loved it! The kids weren't so keen on it, more for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made the recipe almost exactly as written. The only change was I added my homemade taco seasoning to the meat when I cooked it. I didn't expect a whole lot going into this recipe. Quite frankly, I am a food snob and whole food purist at heart and any recipe that uses jars and cans kind of makes me cringe. BUT, my family loves Mexican food and we desperately needed a break from the same old dishes I was making. I had a killer craving for some burrito style food so I took a chance and thought, "one meal from jars and cans won't be that bad". What a mistake! My family LOVED this. My husband and three kids 13, 11, 10 went burrito pie crazy. We almost had a riot start over the last two pieces. My husband asked me to make it again three days later. So needless to say this recipe has single handedly adulterated my whole food fed soul. So I feel I must warn others who may be mindlessly browsing through recipes and feel the supernatural tug of burrito pie power pulling them towards the endless pit of cravings it brings. Save yourselves! It is too late for my family but for burrito's sake, save yourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Tasty, but add fresh lettuce, tomato, sour cream etc to make it taste fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States