Burrito Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
My family loved this dish ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was really good. Everyone in the house ate it, well most. A couple of us are new vegetarians. :) However, my kids are usually very bland eaters with regards to chilies, tomatoes and the such. But this went over well. I subbed ground turkey because we don't do beef, and did extra basic seasonings pepper and cumin on meat. Didn't add granulated garlic or dried minced onion, as the recipe already had fresh. I also used taco seasoning with the liquid from the tomatoes to simmer in and I think that helped with any sogginess problems that could have happened had I used taco sauce. Didn't have to double layer tortillas or anything. Did refried beans as its own layer. Kept olives out and people added as they wanted, along with shredded lettuce and sour cream. Will definitely be making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I live in Egypt so its hard to come by the taco sauce and stuff. I used tomato paste, canned stewed tomato pieces and olives and refried beans. it still tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalia El-guindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngMcTay
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Super easy to make. Our entire family enjoyed this! It passed the expectations of my Husband (he's a chef, always "expertly" critiquing my cooking) and made our family menu! I will be making this plenty more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngMcTay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
We really enjoyed this! It needs something with some crunch, but the flavor was great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
My husband loved this dish. I swapped the canned black olives for slices of pimento stuffed green olives. Much better!! Feel free to add more to taste, it really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abaguimy
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Used Aldi's southwestern bean salad instead of one of the cans of retried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hornerz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This was delicious even my five-year-old liked it. I added a packet of taco seasoning and used refried black beans instead which I think made the recipe better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We loved this recipe. I only made half, using ground turkey for the beef. I didn't have any taco sauce, so I used taco seasoning. Also, left out the can of diced chilis to keep the heat down. Used corn tortillas and topped with Mexican Crema. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time yesterday for friends, and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it, and there were hardly any leftovers. What I read from quite a few other reviews was that the mixture was too wet, which made the tortillas mushy. So I only used about half of the 16oz jar of taco sauce, and did not mix the refried beans into the meat. I let the meat mixture with everything else cook for about 30 minutes, which helped the mixture to absorb much of the liquid. After spreading a thin layer of the meat mixture in the pan (a 9x13 pan worked great), I dolloped the 1 can of refried beans on top of the meat and cheese before placing the first layer of tortillas in the pan. Then repeated with the second layer. I ended up only using 1 can of refried beans, and it was enough. I also placed the tortillas in a dry saute pan one at a time to dry them out a bit before placing in between the layers of the meat, cheese, and beans. After baking the dish for about 30 minutes, I drizzled the remaining taco sauce on top and added some sliced scallions. Served with fresh guacamole, sour cream, and salsa. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMay

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States