Burrebrede (Scottish Shortbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've made this recipe two times now. The first I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I added all but 2 tbs of the sugar/spice mixture into the flour before mixing in the butter. I then sprinkled the 2 tbs on top after scoring the shortbread. I also baked in my brownie pan (9X10) instead of the 8X8 as suggested. Great recipe, great spice mixture. Don't omit the cardamon, even if you have to go out and buy some just for this recipe. It is a very fragrant spice and really adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This deserves a lot more reviews than it has received. It was really delicious and different, yet appealing to a wide variety of tastes. Everyone I served these to loved them. One thing I should note is that the mixture looks like sand when you press it into the pan, but will come together as it bakes, so don't worry. It's not too sweet and keeps well, so you can make it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
We really liked these. They melt in your mouth! I didn't have any superfine sugar, but I whirled some regular sugar in my food processor, which did the trick. The flavor is very subtle, but letting the cookie dissolve in your mouth lets you get the full effect. Thank you for the recipe, Tech! I will add it to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent recipe-I did not change a thing. This serves 6 with VERY generous servings so could most likely serve 12. I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Ugh! What a disappointment! I LOVE shortbread and LOVE the spices the recipe calls for, but this did not work! The shortbread itself was heavy and floury rather than light and melt-in-the-mouth. And I found the spices distracting rather than complimentary. Sorry, just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Wonderful cookies. I cut into small squares after they had cooled for a bit. Taste great! A new annual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I would love to make this again. It's really tasty, and I like the middle ages part. Wouldn't it be good with wine? Could someome tell me how to make it less crumbly? I cooked it in a cast iron pan, spread about 1" thick. Also, is it supposed to bake to a graham cracker brown color? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is delicious. I made it as described but opted for a 9 inch square pan. The result, at full baking was both a little undercooked in the center, and over crisped on the outside. Next time I'll go with a 10 inch pan and instead of sprinkling half the sugar over top, I'll reduce that to 1/4 on top, 3/4 inside. A nice shortbread with a wee tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My new favorite for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I will never use this recipe again. The cookies were almost tasteless and were very very crumbly...almost powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States