Burnt Sugar Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This is a old family favorite...The recipe was lost for years after a great aunt death..I'm thrilled to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
My mother used this icing for her irish potato cake and I lost it. I'm so glad to have found it again. This community is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
part of the secret to this recipe is to use a cast iron skillet! It regulates heat better than regular pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I just loved it! I put it on a caramel cake and it was good. It also makes good caramel candy too. I will make this again. My kids liked to eat it out of the bowl for candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My new favorite icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quelchie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
My mother made this in the 50's. I can rxplain "soft ball stage". First if you have a candy thermometer, that will have a marking for it. If not, this is what it means. You take a tiny dribble of the hot mixture (just a couple of drops) and pour it into a glass or measuring cup of cold water. It should form a small glob. Squeeze it gently. It should not be rock hard...it should be soft pliable. If it does not form a glob you need to cook it a bit longer. If it's like rock candy, you overcooked it. My mother taught me that when I was a child...I always got to eat the tiny glob. lol I do think my mother stuck it under a broiler for just a minute after the cake was ices to "finish" the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Yummy stuff! I had never heard of this when my dad requested it for his bday...having never made any type of cooked candy before, I had some problems, but found some solutions online: the first attempt, I melted the sugar over low in a cast iron skillet per another suggestion and it still crystalized (and turned a yucky grey). I made it in a large, heavy saucepan. Instead of stirring the sugar alone, I added the water, stirring til dissolved, then left it alone over low heat. This way, the sugar caramelized on its own, and I just tilted the pan periodically. Once it was a nice amber color, I slowly stirred in the remaining ingredients (I, too, added a tablespoon of corn syrup). I thought all was lost--the "burnt" sugar was all stuck at the bottom of the pan. But I stuck it out, stirring constantly with a whisk, and it eventually melted again and incorporated into a nice confection. I followed the rest of the instructions as printed. The consistency is nice--it pretty much spread itself. It also holds up nicely, even in our humid environment. My kids wanted to eat it with a spoon! We decided it would be yummy with cut apples, bananas, etc., too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtlesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This is a time consuming recipe, but the instructions were simple to understand. The icing was FABULOUS! It did set up when I added the boiling water, but after about 15 minutes it was liquid again. After cooling I popped it back in the mixer for a few minutes and it looked just like my grandmother's caramel icing. Tastes like it too. The only bad thing is that my toddler picked that moment to get hurt so I walked away from the icing. Upon my return it was already set up in the bowl. After a minute in the microwave it was able to spread it on the cake and it set right back up. Excellent recipe! I doubled it with no problems whatsoever and the only change I made was a little extra salt because it tasted really sweet... possibly from doubling the recipe though. Thumbs up! I'll try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't realize how much work frosting is before engaging in this recipe. It took me more than 15 minutes to make, and I ended up with a rather thick mixture. Don't know what I did wrong, but probably didn't know when to stop boiling. We all really enjoyed the result, though, and I am calling it one of my favorites. Four stars because it took more than 15 minutes to make--cutting into my nap time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My recipe for Burnt sugar Icing is very similar as this one. For those who want to try this in the future, and read the latter reviews, the seizing up of the caramel is normal. You have to bring it back to a boil and redissolve the caranel, then continue with the recipe. Also add a tablespoon of light corn syrup with the milk and sugar to help with early crystalization, which leads to graininess. I like this recipe better than what most people consider caramel icing, which is really penuche. (nothing against penuche, that is yummy also) This technique has a true caramel flavor. Hope this helps everyone. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States