Burnt Sugar Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by april
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I am really upset with this recipe. I do not consider myself a pro but neither am I a beginner. 15 minutes?!?! It took me 20 minutes “over a low heat” just to get the sugar to start browning!!! I spent nearly an hour on this icing and have nothing to show for it. I used a candy thermometer and my dutch oven (as I have used in other caramel recipes) and it turned out horribly. I understand I probably cooked to long but I was following the directions given. My thermometer never even reached the soft ball stage before it was too late. Laurie, can you please give more detail? With more detail I would love to try this again and change my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
My mother made this in the 50's. I can rxplain "soft ball stage". First if you have a candy thermometer, that will have a marking for it. If not, this is what it means. You take a tiny dribble of the hot mixture (just a couple of drops) and pour it into a glass or measuring cup of cold water. It should form a small glob. Squeeze it gently. It should not be rock hard...it should be soft pliable. If it does not form a glob you need to cook it a bit longer. If it's like rock candy, you overcooked it. My mother taught me that when I was a child...I always got to eat the tiny glob. lol I do think my mother stuck it under a broiler for just a minute after the cake was ices to "finish" the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My new favorite icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quelchie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Yummy stuff! I had never heard of this when my dad requested it for his bday...having never made any type of cooked candy before, I had some problems, but found some solutions online: the first attempt, I melted the sugar over low in a cast iron skillet per another suggestion and it still crystalized (and turned a yucky grey). I made it in a large, heavy saucepan. Instead of stirring the sugar alone, I added the water, stirring til dissolved, then left it alone over low heat. This way, the sugar caramelized on its own, and I just tilted the pan periodically. Once it was a nice amber color, I slowly stirred in the remaining ingredients (I, too, added a tablespoon of corn syrup). I thought all was lost--the "burnt" sugar was all stuck at the bottom of the pan. But I stuck it out, stirring constantly with a whisk, and it eventually melted again and incorporated into a nice confection. I followed the rest of the instructions as printed. The consistency is nice--it pretty much spread itself. It also holds up nicely, even in our humid environment. My kids wanted to eat it with a spoon! We decided it would be yummy with cut apples, bananas, etc., too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtlesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
it was probably my fault but this turned out rock hard, i think the problem was that i thought the soft ball stage meant it turned into a soft ball but really it must just mean you have to use a candy thermometer to see when it reaches the soft ball temperature. however i just added some milk and microwaved it to remelt and it tasted great, however doing it this way it made a sauce which i did put on my cupcakes and it tasted amazing especially while still warm...will try again but using the candy thermometer and hope for better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't realize how much work frosting is before engaging in this recipe. It took me more than 15 minutes to make, and I ended up with a rather thick mixture. Don't know what I did wrong, but probably didn't know when to stop boiling. We all really enjoyed the result, though, and I am calling it one of my favorites. Four stars because it took more than 15 minutes to make--cutting into my nap time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
ok this taste really good and i used less sugar but once u get it off the heat and beat it, it turns really hard and clumby and doesnt spread and basically ruins ur cake with all the crums
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This is a time consuming recipe, but the instructions were simple to understand. The icing was FABULOUS! It did set up when I added the boiling water, but after about 15 minutes it was liquid again. After cooling I popped it back in the mixer for a few minutes and it looked just like my grandmother's caramel icing. Tastes like it too. The only bad thing is that my toddler picked that moment to get hurt so I walked away from the icing. Upon my return it was already set up in the bowl. After a minute in the microwave it was able to spread it on the cake and it set right back up. Excellent recipe! I doubled it with no problems whatsoever and the only change I made was a little extra salt because it tasted really sweet... possibly from doubling the recipe though. Thumbs up! I'll try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
part of the secret to this recipe is to use a cast iron skillet! It regulates heat better than regular pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I just loved it! I put it on a caramel cake and it was good. It also makes good caramel candy too. I will make this again. My kids liked to eat it out of the bowl for candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States