Burnt Sugar Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
it was okay... pleople seemed to like it but I didnt think it was anything special. certainly not worth the work. i used an entire set of mixing bowls a sauce pan and a tube pan... spent more time cleaning up than i thought necessary for a cake with so little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
cake tasted delicious and moist. I whipped up some heavy cream to soft peaks and folded in some left over Burnt Sugar Frosting that I'd made for a different recipe. First I heated the icing in the microwave, let it cool slightly and folded it into the whipped cream. got big raves. the cake has so much taste a heavy frosting is just not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
this is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was ok, lacked flavor. A lot of prep. Not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Very good and yummy. My kids loved it. A nice change from the usual chiffon cakes, taste like custard or "leche flan". kinda too sweet but it's ok if you have very sweet tooth. I used 9x13x2 pan size for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
It is just way too eggy! All I smelled and tasted was egg and that's pretty gross! It had good texture and moistness, but I just can't handle pure egg bread! I tried to put a strawberry topping to override the egg and just ended up w/ strawberry egg bread. Horrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This cake was exremely moist. The flavor was excellent, very different. Next time I plan to use a carmel glaze to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
The burnst sugar flavor is exquisite. It bakes up really high , up to the rim of the tube pan. This can be topped with caramel sauce or something of the like if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This recipe is identical to one of my mothers. It made me a hero at my OLDER brother's 60th birthday party! NOTE: Burnt sugar syrup should be cooled to room temperature before adding to egg yolk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States