Burnt Sugar Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
it was okay... pleople seemed to like it but I didnt think it was anything special. certainly not worth the work. i used an entire set of mixing bowls a sauce pan and a tube pan... spent more time cleaning up than i thought necessary for a cake with so little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
cake tasted delicious and moist. I whipped up some heavy cream to soft peaks and folded in some left over Burnt Sugar Frosting that I'd made for a different recipe. First I heated the icing in the microwave, let it cool slightly and folded it into the whipped cream. got big raves. the cake has so much taste a heavy frosting is just not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
this is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was ok, lacked flavor. A lot of prep. Not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Very good and yummy. My kids loved it. A nice change from the usual chiffon cakes, taste like custard or "leche flan". kinda too sweet but it's ok if you have very sweet tooth. I used 9x13x2 pan size for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
It is just way too eggy! All I smelled and tasted was egg and that's pretty gross! It had good texture and moistness, but I just can't handle pure egg bread! I tried to put a strawberry topping to override the egg and just ended up w/ strawberry egg bread. Horrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This cake was exremely moist. The flavor was excellent, very different. Next time I plan to use a carmel glaze to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
The burnst sugar flavor is exquisite. It bakes up really high , up to the rim of the tube pan. This can be topped with caramel sauce or something of the like if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This recipe is identical to one of my mothers. It made me a hero at my OLDER brother's 60th birthday party! NOTE: Burnt sugar syrup should be cooled to room temperature before adding to egg yolk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States