Burnt Sugar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother use to make this cake. It was my favorite. My grandmother would not measure anything. I don't know how she did it, but the burnt sugar cake always came out perfect everytime. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake has such a beautiful color, it turned out well and was so easy to make. The caramelized sugar was the only part I was worried about -- I thought I had burnt it, and I didn't read the part about pouring the hot water in slowly. Oops! Be more careful than I was. But despite my mistakes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
tasty and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This cake didn't even need frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, and simply dusted it with a little powdered sugar. My friends begged me to take large pieces home with them. I let them - I was afraid I'd eat the rest of the cake by myself, in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIPAUL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
YUMMO!! Beautiful color and soooo tasty! I made this in a Bundt cake pan, and drizzled it with a vanilla glaze. Looked pretty and was gone in 2 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Regarding Hollybells frosting request; A caramel or sometimes called burnt sugar frosting is what I have always used on this and spice cakes. Caramel Frosting V by Carol from this site looks like a possible good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A tender, feathery cake with true caramel flavor. I made it for my husband's birthday and paired it with a caramel frosting; he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I loved this recipe. The key is getting the burnt sugar syrup right. Once you master that, this recipe is moist, moist, moist and sooo flavorful. I used a butter flavored powder sugar drizzle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
You have no idea how long I have looked for a recipe for the cake my grandmother made from memory so was never written down. I cannot wait to make this. Grandma Hoffman..I hope I can do it as well as you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Tender, delicate, mild-flavored cake. I thought it grand with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Others thought it would be best with some type of frosting. I would love frosting recommendations from anyone reviewing this recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States