Burnt Sugar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother use to make this cake. It was my favorite. My grandmother would not measure anything. I don't know how she did it, but the burnt sugar cake always came out perfect everytime. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This cake didn't even need frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, and simply dusted it with a little powdered sugar. My friends begged me to take large pieces home with them. I let them - I was afraid I'd eat the rest of the cake by myself, in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIPAUL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
tasty and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Tender, delicate, mild-flavored cake. I thought it grand with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Others thought it would be best with some type of frosting. I would love frosting recommendations from anyone reviewing this recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Regarding Hollybells frosting request; A caramel or sometimes called burnt sugar frosting is what I have always used on this and spice cakes. Caramel Frosting V by Carol from this site looks like a possible good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I loved this recipe. The key is getting the burnt sugar syrup right. Once you master that, this recipe is moist, moist, moist and sooo flavorful. I used a butter flavored powder sugar drizzle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
You have no idea how long I have looked for a recipe for the cake my grandmother made from memory so was never written down. I cannot wait to make this. Grandma Hoffman..I hope I can do it as well as you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake has such a beautiful color, it turned out well and was so easy to make. The caramelized sugar was the only part I was worried about -- I thought I had burnt it, and I didn't read the part about pouring the hot water in slowly. Oops! Be more careful than I was. But despite my mistakes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
YUMMO!! Beautiful color and soooo tasty! I made this in a Bundt cake pan, and drizzled it with a vanilla glaze. Looked pretty and was gone in 2 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A tender, feathery cake with true caramel flavor. I made it for my husband's birthday and paired it with a caramel frosting; he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States