Burnt Sugar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother use to make this cake. It was my favorite. My grandmother would not measure anything. I don't know how she did it, but the burnt sugar cake always came out perfect everytime. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Regarding Hollybells frosting request; A caramel or sometimes called burnt sugar frosting is what I have always used on this and spice cakes. Caramel Frosting V by Carol from this site looks like a possible good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This cake didn't even need frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, and simply dusted it with a little powdered sugar. My friends begged me to take large pieces home with them. I let them - I was afraid I'd eat the rest of the cake by myself, in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIPAUL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mirijok
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
A great recipe! I didn't frost the cake - it was moist and fluffy. As I took it to my work, my co-workers asked what tasty spice it would contain - they couldn't believe it was just burnt sugar. The taste reminded of German Spekulatius. To prevent the crust from tasting bitter, you should be careful not to let it get too dark. And one of my co-workers suggested to make the caramel syrup by cooking the sugar with the water from the beginning on, as I told her it bubbled up very high when I added the water to the boiling sugar. I would definitely make the cake again and try the suggested caramel procedure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made this for my husband's borthday and the whole thing was gone within 24 hours. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Tender, delicate, mild-flavored cake. I thought it grand with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Others thought it would be best with some type of frosting. I would love frosting recommendations from anyone reviewing this recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurielid
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
As a child, we used to get burnt sugar cakes for our birthday and i remember them being excellent. This recipe did not disappoint my image of that brown delicious burnt sugar cake. I added a buttercream icing with a teaspoon of maple extract to top this feast. I took this to a bbq and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurielid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The texture of this cake was great, and I liked it quite a bit with a thin vanilla sugar glaze. But I brought it to a party, and nobody liked it! I had to explain to people that it was supposed to taste like caramel, but nobody was sold. I'm certainly not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The burnt sugar became hard, so I left it out & the cake was still very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
excellent nice flavor. nice and fluffy. this is a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States