Burnt Sugar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Yummy, Yummy! I wanted to make a Burnt Sugar Cake for my birthday just like my Mom made for me. Only she used a yellow cake with the burnt sugar frosting. That frosting takes more to beat it than I can do, so I was excited when I stumbled onto this recipe. I made it using a milk-free margarine and soy milk (allergies) and put a chocolate frosting with pecans on it. Now I'll make it for my Mom's birthday. And maybe break down and make the brunt sugar frosting, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The texture of this cake was great, and I liked it quite a bit with a thin vanilla sugar glaze. But I brought it to a party, and nobody liked it! I had to explain to people that it was supposed to taste like caramel, but nobody was sold. I'm certainly not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
excellent nice flavor. nice and fluffy. this is a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A tender, feathery cake with true caramel flavor. I made it for my husband's birthday and paired it with a caramel frosting; he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
YUMMO!! Beautiful color and soooo tasty! I made this in a Bundt cake pan, and drizzled it with a vanilla glaze. Looked pretty and was gone in 2 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake has such a beautiful color, it turned out well and was so easy to make. The caramelized sugar was the only part I was worried about -- I thought I had burnt it, and I didn't read the part about pouring the hot water in slowly. Oops! Be more careful than I was. But despite my mistakes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
You have no idea how long I have looked for a recipe for the cake my grandmother made from memory so was never written down. I cannot wait to make this. Grandma Hoffman..I hope I can do it as well as you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I loved this recipe. The key is getting the burnt sugar syrup right. Once you master that, this recipe is moist, moist, moist and sooo flavorful. I used a butter flavored powder sugar drizzle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Regarding Hollybells frosting request; A caramel or sometimes called burnt sugar frosting is what I have always used on this and spice cakes. Caramel Frosting V by Carol from this site looks like a possible good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Tender, delicate, mild-flavored cake. I thought it grand with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Others thought it would be best with some type of frosting. I would love frosting recommendations from anyone reviewing this recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States