Burnt Butter Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
definitely an acquired taste. my greek friends do this >burn butter in pot >add rice and broth to the burnt butter pot. > bring to a soft boil >simmer 15min (covered) >remove from heat and keep covered for 5 more min >fluff and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norcaljohnny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Cooked rice in broth in rice maker, stirred it when it was cooked, then added the burned butter and left it on warm setting while finishing everything else. My husband and kids LOVE this, it's a bit salty, so not to be served with salty meat or veggies, but the flavour is amazing when done correctly. TIP Keep whisking butter right up to the point of pouring so it doesn't blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I make recipes from All Recipes almost every week and this is the first one I've commented on. This rice is amazing! I added the suggestions of others - adding a little chopped spinach and garlic. I give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I loved this. I was very skeptical when I read the recipe however, it was way beyond my expectations!!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrama1
Home Town: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
It was interesting, we ate it, but I don't think this will get put into my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Really thought this was a good and different way to make rice. Everyone ate it up! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
SUPER delicious & simple. I served this with Greek chicken and thought it was just so good. I'm Ukrainian/German and we eat A LOT of things cooked with browned butter so this was right up my alley. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I used mexican long grain rice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very easy and a dish even my 2 and 4 year olds enjoyed. I didn't cook the butter quite as long as instructed because I wasn't sure if the kids would like that as much. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I had such high hopes for this dish. Only thing I can think of that went wrong was that I burnt the butter in a non stick pan. By the time it got to the beautiful chocolate color, evidently it charred the bottom of the pan, because when I poured it onto the rice, I had these horrible black flakes. The rice tasted greasy and plastic. I won't try it again, even with a different pan, since the greasy taste was also offensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States