Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Worst frosting I ever made & I have been baking for 35 years. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good frosting recipe. Not too sweet as a lot of icings are. I added some red food dye to make the icing pink, turned out very beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
oh my. This is divine. I used it on banana cream cupcakes in place of another frosting I didn't have the ingredients for. The only draw back is that is does set up fast, but really who cares when it tastes this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe is one of my childhood favorites. It has a very unique taste that goes with tons of different cakes. It's super easy to make and you don't need a lot because a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I did not like the texture it had. It was too watery, I have just finished making it and had to put it in the freezer to see if it will thicken up. This is the third recipe I have tried and for some reason I just can't get it down. Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Almodovar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I really like this frosting as does my family. I've made it twice so far. The first time was a comedy of errors, and at first I thought it was too sweet, but when I ate a piece of cake the second day it was wonderful. I also initially thought that I was to transfer the melted butter to a bowl and proceed from there. Big Mistake - as it does set up quickly, and on top of that it was as thought the frosting was too thick and striped the part of the mixer that the blades go in, I had to throw that mixer away. So I've tried it again this time with a chocolate cake (yellow the first time)- following directions, and one thing I realized is that the heat from the pot helps the mixing process, and helps to liquify the ingredients, and this second time the consistency, the taste, everything - just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
very yummy and stiffens quickly. Add "darker" flavorings to it for another aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
very good made it for birthday cake for my cousin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good icing that pairs well with Simply White Cake on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Easy AND delicious! I cut the recipe in half for 20 cupcakes and I still have some leftover. The frosting does set quickly so you have to move fast. My butter turned tan and continued to darken after I removed from heat so have all of the ingredients ready to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States