Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Worst frosting I ever made & I have been baking for 35 years. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good frosting recipe. Not too sweet as a lot of icings are. I added some red food dye to make the icing pink, turned out very beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
oh my. This is divine. I used it on banana cream cupcakes in place of another frosting I didn't have the ingredients for. The only draw back is that is does set up fast, but really who cares when it tastes this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe is one of my childhood favorites. It has a very unique taste that goes with tons of different cakes. It's super easy to make and you don't need a lot because a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I did not like the texture it had. It was too watery, I have just finished making it and had to put it in the freezer to see if it will thicken up. This is the third recipe I have tried and for some reason I just can't get it down. Any advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Almodovar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I really like this frosting as does my family. I've made it twice so far. The first time was a comedy of errors, and at first I thought it was too sweet, but when I ate a piece of cake the second day it was wonderful. I also initially thought that I was to transfer the melted butter to a bowl and proceed from there. Big Mistake - as it does set up quickly, and on top of that it was as thought the frosting was too thick and striped the part of the mixer that the blades go in, I had to throw that mixer away. So I've tried it again this time with a chocolate cake (yellow the first time)- following directions, and one thing I realized is that the heat from the pot helps the mixing process, and helps to liquify the ingredients, and this second time the consistency, the taste, everything - just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
very yummy and stiffens quickly. Add "darker" flavorings to it for another aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
very good made it for birthday cake for my cousin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good icing that pairs well with Simply White Cake on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Easy AND delicious! I cut the recipe in half for 20 cupcakes and I still have some leftover. The frosting does set quickly so you have to move fast. My butter turned tan and continued to darken after I removed from heat so have all of the ingredients ready to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States