Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
SO GREAT! My Sister in law made cookies recently frosted with a similar recipe and only stated it wa "Brown butter frosting." This was exactly it! I used it to frost butterscotch cookies---fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I was glad to find this recipe, as I had accidently burnt some butter and didn't know what to do with it. I made Blonde Brownies from this site and frosted them with this. I love the flavor of the burnt butter frosting- I've never had it before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
What more can I say than "wow". It had a very interesting flavor, for sure, and although nobody really seemed to "love" it, every drop of the icing was licked out of the bowl and eaten off of the cake! Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This is the best tasting frosting ever! The name is mis-leading, the butter isn't burnt but heated just enough to give it a nutty flavor. I used this to frost all my christmas cookies last year (except the white santa b/c this frosting is yellow) and everyone raved about the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I personally loved it! Very interesting and I couldn't eat it alone, it was too rich but on top of a fudge brownie it would be great. My husband said it was too buttery but I give it 5 stars for uniqueness?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Thanks for this recipe! My grandmother use to make this all the time on her spice cake or carrot cake. I forgot about it until I saw this recipe. Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I love this "burnt" flavor of frosting. I tasted it at a friends birthday, and she said she just throws things together, and didn't really have a recipe, so I came to allrecipes to find one, and wahlah. I tried it on a birthday cake with my family, and we loved it. It is pretty sweet, so just put a thin layer on the cake. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Very different, but very good too! It's one of those recipes that just happens to taste ten times better than it sounds )i.e. "burnt butter!?!?" but really -- it's great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have had burnt butter frosting before however; this wasn't what I expected. It was gritty and tasted like pure sugar. I believe the problem was the recipe was written down and I used granulated sugar vs. powdered sugar. HEEELLLLOOO! I will try again this weekend and anticipate much better results. :-) I tried this again and the texture was better but still not exactly what I was looking for. However, it was still good on my carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good icing that pairs well with Simply White Cake on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States