Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is my default frosting recipe. It seems a lot fancier than plain vanilla and it goes well with many cake flavors. It sounds better if you call it "browned butter frosting". If you've really burned the butter you'd better start again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have had burnt butter frosting before however; this wasn't what I expected. It was gritty and tasted like pure sugar. I believe the problem was the recipe was written down and I used granulated sugar vs. powdered sugar. HEEELLLLOOO! I will try again this weekend and anticipate much better results. :-) I tried this again and the texture was better but still not exactly what I was looking for. However, it was still good on my carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Wonderful toffee taste. Very sweet! I piped it in thin lines onto brownies, and it was delicious. Might have been overpowering to spread like a frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I personally loved it! Very interesting and I couldn't eat it alone, it was too rich but on top of a fudge brownie it would be great. My husband said it was too buttery but I give it 5 stars for uniqueness?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Thanks for this recipe! My grandmother use to make this all the time on her spice cake or carrot cake. I forgot about it until I saw this recipe. Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I was glad to find this recipe, as I had accidently burnt some butter and didn't know what to do with it. I made Blonde Brownies from this site and frosted them with this. I love the flavor of the burnt butter frosting- I've never had it before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
SO GREAT! My Sister in law made cookies recently frosted with a similar recipe and only stated it wa "Brown butter frosting." This was exactly it! I used it to frost butterscotch cookies---fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I love this "burnt" flavor of frosting. I tasted it at a friends birthday, and she said she just throws things together, and didn't really have a recipe, so I came to allrecipes to find one, and wahlah. I tried it on a birthday cake with my family, and we loved it. It is pretty sweet, so just put a thin layer on the cake. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
The consistency was ok, but the icing was too sweet and the flavour slightly odd. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States