Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was easy to make (just keep a constant eye on the butter) but it didn't taste very good. My kids LOVED it however. It sets up quickly, so frost and sprinkle asap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aquarian_Mommax2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
More appropriately named Browned Butter Frosting... (I wouldn't want burnt anything)! Deliciously unique flavor that complemented both the carrot cake and marbled cupcakes that I made. It was ridiculously sweet so I may make some modifications the next time I use this recipe, but it really had a nice rich flavor from the carmelization. Will keep on file for future recipes! Very versitle: I'm sure it would go nicely with many different flavors (banana, caramel, chocolate...) and treats (cookies, cakes, brownies...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Loved this - comes together quickly -- taste like penuche frosting. You have to work fast when frosting because it becomes rough when it cools. I found it stayed smoother if you used a piping bag than just applying to the cupcake or cake. Will definately be in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
O..M...G!! This is the BEST frosting I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly and I couldn't help but taking bites of it every few minutes! I used it to frost my turkey day carrot cake.. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I had burnt butter frosting a couple weeks ago and loved it and then found this recipe. I made it today for a burnt sugar cake(II from this site). Well I need to pay better attention to the serving because I made it for 2 9" round cakes and it is not enough to ice all around. I have filling and then just on the top layer. The same thing happened to the person whose cake I had tried before. When he did it though it was enough for the flavor maybe make it a little thinner to drizzle a little. I also did not start the butter at med high. I started on low while I was getting everything else started and then turned it up and it browned quickly, the OP said he had a hard time getting to brown. He did not use this recipe but had told me it was similar when I showed it to him>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenthecakelady
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I give this frosting 6 stars! WOW! This is seriously the best frosting I have ever tasted. It is very very rich so a little goes a long way. I used it to top some peanut butter cupcakes. Fab combination. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenthecakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I don't know if I messed up or not, but I didn't like the flavor. It reminded me of the melted butter I used for lobster. I wondered if maybe the spoon I used was melting into the butter, but it didn't smell like plastic. I had my husband taste the frosting, and he said it was fine, but I don't like it. I am sure I cooked it long enough, it did turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made banana cupcakes from an old family recipe and it didn't have the frosting recipe on it! I found this one and it was just what I was looking for! A half recipe was plenty to frost about 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Yum yum yum~!! I got a little carried away the first time I attempted to make this and didn't add the sugar slowly... oops! But the second time it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I could eat this frosting all by itself. You have to use it quickly because it sets very fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States