Burmese Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
A very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
this was good. made as written except for the lemon grass. used lemon zest instead. added some cauliflower so we could have some veggies. thanks for the post Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was an easy but flavourful dish. The family loved it and I will make again. I took other reviewers advice and added 1/2 cup of water and a tin of drained tomatoes. Next time I will add less water. I also substituted lemon peel for lemon grass - not the same flavour at all but the lemon peel citrus note was a plus. Will use lemon grass next time but I didn't have any on hand last night. I also added chopped capsicum, zuchini, shallots and bok choy as I always bulk up the veg content of all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've made this twice this week. I used just over a lb of chicken (instead of 2.25 lbs) and I put the chicken thighs in as is (not cut into chunks). I only had grape tomatoes, so I used those. I also added cauliflower towards the end of cooking and let it simmer, covered for about 15 minutes. This is a great recipe. The chicken was so tender and fell apart so easily!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is really excellent. Spicy but not unbearable and would go great with a yogurt/cucumber raita. I would double the sauce though, definitely not cut back as another reviewer suggested. We didn't have enough to make much sauce at all for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I don't know why I listen to recipes when they insist on adding one full cup of water. If you make this, start with just half a cup first, or else it's too watery. I also added 5 fresh green chiles for a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have lemon grass so I substituted lemon peel. I also didn't use as much chicken. Added quite a large amount of fresh green beans instead. Only other change I made was adding less salt. Next time I think I'll try to skip the step of grinding everything up in the blender to save on clean up. I'll just chop everything fine and see how it goes. It was very good as is, and I think it will also be very good making changes each time I cook it - add more curry powder one time - maybe add thai basil one time.... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great Curry!! Easy and quick! We used a well drained can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. My husband gives this an eight out of ten. We would recommend this highly, we'll make it for friends soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was rather involved to make, but the result was well worth it! With all the spiices, I thought it would be over-whelming, but it was the perfect blend--not one spice dominated the others, and they came together to make a fragrant, spicy curry with just the right amount of heat. I had never used fish sauce before, so that was kind of scary; but the finished produce did not taste "fishy" at all. Hubby didn't love it, but he didn't hate it, either. He said it was different. Note: he was basically making it with my help, and he was okay until we added the fish sauce! LOL! I served it with basmati rice and peas. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States