Burmese Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
we really liked this but think it could have been spicier and a bit saltier.. i only had bone in, skinless thighs so i used 4 of them for 4 servings.. i doubled the curry and the garam masala.. used half the onion (sliced) and didn't blend everything.. just chopped finely.. i used 1/4 of the water and still felt i could have done without.. i used the liquid as broth and threw some spinach in there.. we ate it as a soup and i added some leftover rice to bf's portion.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I found the chicken to be wonderful by itself, but the sauce to be lacking. It was kind of bitter. I ended up adding a few tablespoons of yogurt to make it better. For my kids I took the chicken, chopped it up, mixed in yogurt and put it on a pita. That was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was good but not great. There was nothing wrong with the end result, and I'm not sure what would have improved it (although adding some julienned baby kale/spinach/chard/bok choy at the end boosted the nutritional content).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We live where you would never find garam masala so I got a recipe off of about.com Even with that, I couldn't get the black cardamon that is used in it. If you follow that recipe you will have a lot left over so be in the mood for Indian food for awhile. I just left the boneless thighs whole and they fell apart in chunks by themselves after cooking. This was a really good recipe but I will add about double the curry for our tastes next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this tonight. I used about 6 cloves of garlic and added a little more spice. I also did not put in a cup of water, I didn't measure though, I just added a little at a time until I thought it looked good. I ended up cooking some cubed yam and added the whole lot to Roti bread. Really good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Really good! Used half the water in the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
A very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
this was good. made as written except for the lemon grass. used lemon zest instead. added some cauliflower so we could have some veggies. thanks for the post Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was an easy but flavourful dish. The family loved it and I will make again. I took other reviewers advice and added 1/2 cup of water and a tin of drained tomatoes. Next time I will add less water. I also substituted lemon peel for lemon grass - not the same flavour at all but the lemon peel citrus note was a plus. Will use lemon grass next time but I didn't have any on hand last night. I also added chopped capsicum, zuchini, shallots and bok choy as I always bulk up the veg content of all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've made this twice this week. I used just over a lb of chicken (instead of 2.25 lbs) and I put the chicken thighs in as is (not cut into chunks). I only had grape tomatoes, so I used those. I also added cauliflower towards the end of cooking and let it simmer, covered for about 15 minutes. This is a great recipe. The chicken was so tender and fell apart so easily!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States