Burmese Chicken Curry (Gaeng Gai Bama) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Excellent! I confess I was a bit dubious when I added the water to cook the chicken and realized there were few vegetables. I'm also not a fan of tomato based sauces, but this was terrific. The coconut milk mellowed the tomato puree nicely. I used a smaller about of red curry paste (I used the Thai Kitchen brand) because I was having a guest and wasn't sure if he liked spicy food. Turns out I needn't have worried. It was a mild savory dish that both my guest and husband raved about. Next time I will use more curry paste as I think the sutff I used had less pepper in them. For those who want to know I used Sun Brand Madras Curry powder if get from my gorcery store. I know curry mixes vary so if yours was too spicy then try a different curry. I am keeping this as a standard quick meal. It was easy quick and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I had to make a LOT of substitutions. I used thinly sliced onions because I didn't have shallots. I used half a can of diced tomatoes because I didn't have fresh. I also used soy sauce because I didn't have fish sauce and I don't care for it. I also excluded the cilantro. Even still, this recipe was very good and I'm sure it would have been even better if I had followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I may add red and green bell peppers, and even some Thai Basil (because I love it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Quite good! Next time I'll add some fresh green beans and cook the shallots a little more. The chicken stayed moist, which helped. The curry paste I had must have been lousy because it was hardly spicy at all! I'll get a different one next time. Even with these issues the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I omitted the sugar since it was sweet enough already, and I had to add a little green Thai paste since my jar of red paste had had dried up at the bottom. Other than that, I made it pretty much as written. Served it over brown rice. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
When the only conversation you hear at the dinner table is the sound of your family's random and intermittent "Mmmmmmmm's", you've got a winner. JUST like the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXY821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
THE BEST! 0. I didn't add the sugar as I figured the shallots/onions would make it sweet enough and I was right. 1. We had no "red curry paste" so I substituted it with regular Indian curry + minced garlic + a little shrimp paste which we already have. 2. I added sliced large mushrooms, seasoned ground turkey (we had some spare) and shrimp, it turned out SUPER DUPER AWESOME! 3. I seared and fried the meat a bit before adding water and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookychef
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had to find a Burmese recipe to serve to a group, and this was the only one I could find. Everyone _loved_ it! I made it pretty much following the directions (though I had to increase the servings). I think it is worth getting scallions and fish sauce if you can to try this version, though variations will be interesting to try too. We will be adding this to our menus at home frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I know nothing of how "authentic" it is, but we really liked it! I used only a little more than 1 T of Thai Kitchen's red curry paste, brown sugar in place of the palm, and omitted the cilantro (for my cilantro-hating husband). We've made it four or five times now and really like it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
also added a little lime juice, ginger and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very good but very hot. I know different curry pastes have different heat so that is probably why so hot. I made as stated only I used shrimp instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States