Burmese Chicken Curry (Gaeng Gai Bama) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
One tip: once you're done frying the shallots/onions, you'll need to transfer it to a bowl - might as well save some time and fry them while the curry is simmering. This way you'll still have the same amount of dishes afterwards. The only things I did differently was to substitute coconut milk for the water (about half a can for simmering the chicken and half for afterwards) and used carmelized onions instead of shallots. The curry that you use will make a huge difference in the taste - I used Thai red curry paste and Indian mild curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As the description states this isn't REAL AUTHENTIC Burmese chicken curry. The real one which uses no curry paste or coconut milk, just lots of tomatoes, onions and fermented fish paste "Ngapi" and fish sauce plus other various spices to make the curry sauce. However, this recipe is not too bad. It was a little bland for my mother (who typically cooks THE BEST Burmese food!), but I thought it was pretty good. *NOTE* If you do not have fish sauce DO NOT USE SOYSAUCE! I cannot even imagine using soysauce in a Burmese dish... Use salt! It won't be as flavorful as fish sauce but salt will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrightBlueInk
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I couldn't find red curry paste at my local store, so I had to substitute green curry paste, and I skipped the shallots to save on time but it still came out really delicious. I think red curry paste would've been a little bit better since there wasn't much spice when I made it, but even with green curry paste it had a ton of flavor. I also substituted brown sugar for the palm sugar, since that was what I had. So it's probably not quite "right" but it still came out as one of the best things I've made from this site. A total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used canned tomatoes and omitted the coconut milk because I didn't think the milk I had was good still. Turned out well anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Insanely delicious. We served over steamed brown jasmine rice for a hearty meal. Don't skip the cilantro, it really brightens the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Doubled the recipe for 2lbs of pork. Used one can of diced tomatoes and a whole can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This dish was delish! I had a mild red curry paste, and I would have loved more of a kick- I will definitely amp it up next time! I substituted thinly sliced onions sauteed in chili oil, and they were superb on top of the dish! I experienced how easy it can be to overcook the chicken- rookie error. When the dish settles, the flavors pop even more. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Yum! My mom is from Burma and while this was really good, it's not Burmese, as Michelle says. I added too much water as I was afraid that it would be too hot-- big mistake. Barely cover the chicken with water. Also, my red curry paste wasn't very hot at all, so I added almost twice the amount. I used soy instead of fish sauce (I know it's not really an acceptable substitute, but I didn't have any!) and skipped the cilantro because the boyfriend doesn't care for it. Served this over coconut rice.. delicious! A note about the shallot garnish: I use a regular yellow onion and just slice it really thin. My mother uses much more oil so that she can store the fried onions on the countertop (in oil) and use it as garnish whenever she pleases. Although, I changed quite a bit, I have no doubt the recipe would be good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I don't know Bermese cuisine from Thai from Indian, but I know that this recipe was simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My picky 8-year-old took seconds saying "I love this chicken." My husband who rarely comments on my cooking said, "This one is a keeper." My teenager wasn't quite as enthusiastic but said it was "good." He has a cold, though, so that may have affected his experience. I could not get the sauce to become "creamy" as described, but it still tasted good. I accidentally used chili powder instead of curry powder. I noticed it right after I covered the chicken with water, so I dumped the chicken into a colander, rinsed it, and started over. Not sure if the brief soaking in chili powder affected the taste or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States