Burgundy Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner. The piece of meat was a rib-eye roast. I doubled the soup and burgundy amounts because it was a large piece of meat, and because I wanted plenty of extra sauce. My family was so impressed, and the recipe was amazingly simple. My uncle said it's the best holiday entree I've ever made. I also tried the exact same method with chicken cutlets a week later (since I had extra wine), and it came out delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I cooked mine in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and it came out tender and juicy. The flavor was perfect! I did throw in some chopped garlic with garlic salt because we love garlic on our roast. This is a recipe to keep and cherish. Thanks for the add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a great tasting and easy recipe for roast. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wow! The hardest part of this perfectly simple recipe is having to endure the aroma for 4 hours (mine finished in 4). It came out fork tender not stringy. No mess simple clean up. There is no wine taste, just perfectly seasoned gravy. I did use fresh mushrooms vs. canned since I had them. I normally "doctor" recipes but not this one. The only addition I made was dried minced garlic. I may try this out in my crockpot next time...but definatly making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ransom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent, easy recipe, my picky family loves it; the gravy turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zowi420

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Excellent! Had no wine but used balsamic vinegar...NICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
A tasty version of classic pot roast. I added fresh mushrooms instead of canned and also threw in fresh baby carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very, very good - hubby loved it! I used what was left in a bottle of Shiraz (about 2/3 cup) & substituted low sodium cream of chicken soup only because I didn't have cream of mushroom. Used fresh mushrooms instead, which I'd quickly sautéed with clove of garlic. A few grinds of black pepper & 3-1/2 hours later the roast was moist & tender, & the gravy was the perfect consistency & full of flavor. Also, I added some carrots & celery for the last 1-1/2 hours (turning up the oven to 325*) & served with ricotta mashed potatoes. We're actually looking forward to the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I would like to know if people added water to the canned soup or just left it in the condensed state...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I didn't have Burgandy wine on hand so I used Marsala and this dish was a complete hit with the family. I took MommySmith's advice and cooked it in a crock pot for 4 hours on high and we served it over white rice with a side of vegetables. I will make this recipe for the rest of my life. You should too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisauce
Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States