Burgundy Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I cooked mine in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and it came out tender and juicy. The flavor was perfect! I did throw in some chopped garlic with garlic salt because we love garlic on our roast. This is a recipe to keep and cherish. Thanks for the add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very, very good - hubby loved it! I used what was left in a bottle of Shiraz (about 2/3 cup) & substituted low sodium cream of chicken soup only because I didn't have cream of mushroom. Used fresh mushrooms instead, which I'd quickly sautéed with clove of garlic. A few grinds of black pepper & 3-1/2 hours later the roast was moist & tender, & the gravy was the perfect consistency & full of flavor. Also, I added some carrots & celery for the last 1-1/2 hours (turning up the oven to 325*) & served with ricotta mashed potatoes. We're actually looking forward to the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a great tasting and easy recipe for roast. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
While this recipe had a good concept going of cooking it slowly (I did 3 1/2 hours, so it was medium-rare), it really lacked in the flavor. I think some thyme and salt would really kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
A tasty version of classic pot roast. I added fresh mushrooms instead of canned and also threw in fresh baby carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Excellent! Had no wine but used balsamic vinegar...NICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wow! The hardest part of this perfectly simple recipe is having to endure the aroma for 4 hours (mine finished in 4). It came out fork tender not stringy. No mess simple clean up. There is no wine taste, just perfectly seasoned gravy. I did use fresh mushrooms vs. canned since I had them. I normally "doctor" recipes but not this one. The only addition I made was dried minced garlic. I may try this out in my crockpot next time...but definatly making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ransom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Good! Better than I thought it'd be, actually. I chose this recipe because I accidentally opened a can of cream of mushroom the other day when I was looking for chicken broth, so needed to use that, and because I was gifted a couple of bottles of red wine over the holidays and I'm not a big fan of red wine (as a beverage, I mean, love it for cooking) and wanted to use some of that too. As this was a 'use up what I have' endeavour, I used stew beef instead of a full roast. I think I had about a pound and a half of beef, so if I made a 4 pound roast, I definitely would have wanted more gravy. It was also just a touch on the too salty side (but not so much that it was unpleasant) so in the future I might not add the entire packet of onion soup mix. I completely forgot the flour but I found it thick enough for me. Like a couple other reviewers, I cooked it in the crockpot, but I did about 3 hours on high and then about an hour and a half on low because when I checked it, it was starting to burn around the edges. It could have been a little more tender for my liking but that's probably because of the stew beef and turning down the temp. If I were to do it in the crock pot again, I'd probably do it on low 7-8 hours. All in all, very good though. It's very similar to a beef cubes-and-gravy meal my dad makes but the red wine took it to another level. The only downside to my meal was I made boxed mashed potatoes and their gloopy texture didn't do this delicious gravy justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is my favorite pot roast recipe! It's so simple and delicious! One pot recipe. I throw in chunks of sweet potatoes/small red potatoes, onions & baby carrots in the roasting pan with the roast. I will use either red wine or balsamic vinegar, whatever I have on hand. I've tried both and it tastes great either way. My fiancee was RAVING about how amazing it was and what a good cook I was :) Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snazzybaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner. The piece of meat was a rib-eye roast. I doubled the soup and burgundy amounts because it was a large piece of meat, and because I wanted plenty of extra sauce. My family was so impressed, and the recipe was amazingly simple. My uncle said it's the best holiday entree I've ever made. I also tried the exact same method with chicken cutlets a week later (since I had extra wine), and it came out delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States