Burgundy Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
So simple! So good! I didn't change a thing and my husband (who hates mushrooms) finished his entire plate, went back for seconds then found a loaf of bread to soak up the gravy. This is getting saved to my recipe box and will now be a regular. I served it with roasted rosemary fingerling potatoes and a veggie medley containing Brussel sprouts, summer squash, parsnips, butternut squash, onion, and garlic also roasted. So delicious and the gravy fell victim to being smothered over the veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The sauce was nice but my meat was dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
we made this yesterday and it was awesome. we needed comfort food and this was definitely it. we mixed all the ingredients together and we used fresh sliced mushrooms, served with rice and a glass of wine.....wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic! This is going to be my new recipe for roast beef. For years I have been doing the slow cooker beef; not any more, this is great! And as promised, very, very easy. Plus it made the kitchen smell marvelous, and the taste of the wine in the beef was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe, we always double all ingredients and use balsamic vinegar instead of wine. Also use fresh mushrooms if you have them, and we add a bag of baby carrots, and a bag of mini potatoes. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Was my first time making a roast. I did as one of the other reviewers suggested and cooked it in the crock pot on high for four hours. I also added carrots and red potatoes to the pot. Super easy and the end result was super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made it as is with no variation to the ingredients. I get large roasts as I have a big family, so I cut a 5# rump roast in half and covered each half with the recipe ingredients (whole portion for each half, so doubling the ingredients). Had plenty of gravy for each that way. One poster had mentioned maybe adding salt....I can't even imagine as this comes out plenty salty...don't salt it! It was really good, but I gave it a 4 vs a 5 star because none of us found it spectacular, and my family said they preferred my "old way" of making roast. I would give it a 5 for ease though! I paired it with garlic mashed red skins (gravy gave it extra good flavor), and steamed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great recipe. I've made this twice already...each time I used two packets of dry onion soup. I've been glad each time. I would recommend low and slow in a crockpot...8-10 hours. Be sure to let the meat rest as the recipe recommends to allow the juices to absorb. This is what I did the first time and the roast was fork tender and absolutely wonderful. The second time I made this I put it in a crockpot 5 hours on high. It was still yummy and pretty tender but the extra time is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by firstfoodie
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Used half a packet of dried soup, as I was concerned about the sodium. Used fresh mushrooms. Added sliced onion and one clove of minced garlic. Served with kale mashed potatoes. So good, will certainly make again for a nice Sunday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States