Burgundy Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly (otherwise I'd give it 5!). I hate reviewing recipes that I don't actually follow, but I didn't have enough wine so I improvised a bit :) I put in one cup of wine (petite shiraz...again, improv) and 1 cup of beef broth from a bouillon cube. I didn't have onion or celery, so I put in some dried minced onion (though I don't think it made a difference) and 2 packets of gravy. This was delicious! And I'm such a beginner at this stuff and I hate making pork because it's always dry and something always goes awry. But this was the best pork I've ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great as is. The pork came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I subbed in beef broth for 1 cup of the wine. It still had a heavy wine taste. The gravy mix just clumped when added to the liquid, so it didn't really add any flavor. I seared the meat before cooking it, and it definitely stayed moist. I think I'd make this again, but reduce the wine even more and just season and thicken it myself, rather than use the gravy mix. It was just ok as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly except I did sear it first. Unfortunately no one in my family cared for it. It was very tender but they didnt like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very, very good! I did it in the slow cooker and it came out just great! It is a little salty with the brown gravy mix, so I would suggest editing out some of the salt that gets rubbed on the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I didn't have celery (decreased regular salt and threw in some celery salt instead). I used a cabernet, since that was all I had on hand. I cooked it about 55 minutes, and that was probably about 5 minutes too long. (It was only at about 135 degrees after 45 minutes.) I did flip the tenderloins over when I put it back in for that last 10 minutes. I transferred the wine/drippings to a small saucepan to boil off a bit more of the alcohol (just in case) while adding the gravy mix. Other reviewers have said the sauce didn't thicken up enough, but mine was fine this way, perfect gravy thickness with just one gravy packet. The pork was maybe a bit on the bland side, but it was probably the most tender & moist pork I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this tonight for the first time and my family raved about it. I followed it pretty much as written except I used red Sangria as my red wine because that is all I had. I also added one packet onion gravy mix along with the packet of brown gravy mix. It was wonderful and so easy to make. I did find that my onions were still a bit crispy so you may want to cook them a bit before baking with the meat. I made with two other recipes from this site Honey Roasted Red Potatoes and Pan fried asparagus. Made a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! Reading other reviews I did reduce the wine by half & replaced the half with beef stock. The gravy was PERFECT. I didn't have burgundy on hand, so just used a cab. Added mushrooms and served with mashed potatoes...OMG, hubby said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sager
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I modded this a bit, i mixed it all up and marinated for 1-2 hours before cooking. Then cooked for 45 mins at 350, followed by 1 hour, at 150, basting it occasionally. Strained off onions etc with a colander, made the gravy, re added the onions etc.. It came out AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet, I'm reading through the reviews now to see how great this really is. And its hard to get any knowledge of true results, when so many reviewers have CHANGED almost EVERYTHING about THIS recipe!!!!! Sure, I understand you want to share what you did, and your results of cooking time is super helpful, BUT if you change the seasonings/ the gravy/ basically everything, YOU ARE NOT BEING A HELPFUL REVIEWER!!!! All you are doing is confusing everyone, ifyou think your changes are so great (and you've changed everything) then go make it a brand NEW RECIPE!! You are making it hard for US to know if THIS recipe worked!!!!!! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,098) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States