Burgundy Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very, very good! I did it in the slow cooker and it came out just great! It is a little salty with the brown gravy mix, so I would suggest editing out some of the salt that gets rubbed on the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I didn't have celery (decreased regular salt and threw in some celery salt instead). I used a cabernet, since that was all I had on hand. I cooked it about 55 minutes, and that was probably about 5 minutes too long. (It was only at about 135 degrees after 45 minutes.) I did flip the tenderloins over when I put it back in for that last 10 minutes. I transferred the wine/drippings to a small saucepan to boil off a bit more of the alcohol (just in case) while adding the gravy mix. Other reviewers have said the sauce didn't thicken up enough, but mine was fine this way, perfect gravy thickness with just one gravy packet. The pork was maybe a bit on the bland side, but it was probably the most tender & moist pork I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this tonight for the first time and my family raved about it. I followed it pretty much as written except I used red Sangria as my red wine because that is all I had. I also added one packet onion gravy mix along with the packet of brown gravy mix. It was wonderful and so easy to make. I did find that my onions were still a bit crispy so you may want to cook them a bit before baking with the meat. I made with two other recipes from this site Honey Roasted Red Potatoes and Pan fried asparagus. Made a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! Reading other reviews I did reduce the wine by half & replaced the half with beef stock. The gravy was PERFECT. I didn't have burgundy on hand, so just used a cab. Added mushrooms and served with mashed potatoes...OMG, hubby said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sager
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I modded this a bit, i mixed it all up and marinated for 1-2 hours before cooking. Then cooked for 45 mins at 350, followed by 1 hour, at 150, basting it occasionally. Strained off onions etc with a colander, made the gravy, re added the onions etc.. It came out AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet, I'm reading through the reviews now to see how great this really is. And its hard to get any knowledge of true results, when so many reviewers have CHANGED almost EVERYTHING about THIS recipe!!!!! Sure, I understand you want to share what you did, and your results of cooking time is super helpful, BUT if you change the seasonings/ the gravy/ basically everything, YOU ARE NOT BEING A HELPFUL REVIEWER!!!! All you are doing is confusing everyone, ifyou think your changes are so great (and you've changed everything) then go make it a brand NEW RECIPE!! You are making it hard for US to know if THIS recipe worked!!!!!! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I don't understand what the rave is about this recipe. I followed it exactly except for using 1 cup wine, 1 cup broth, and added mushrooms. I wished I would have seared the pork before hand and sauteed the vegetables. I think that would have gave it more flavor. Over baking will result in the pork being overly dry. I removed it at 155 degrees and wish I took it out at 150 (we like our meat a little more pink).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It was just okay. Per other reviews, I cut the wine in half and subbed beef broth for the other half and the wine taste was still plenty strong. I can't imagine using the full wine amount. I also browned the meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yummy! So good. I wasn't sure if I was going to like it because I'm not a wine drinker, but it was amazing! The meat was so juicy and tender! I will be making this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Wasn't a fan at all.The pork turns out very tender, but that is easy to achieve no matter what sauce/rub you use; tenderloin is easy to cook. The appearance and flavor were not good. It's a very unattractive light pink and blackish color, and the sauce is very salty, even with reduced-sodium gravy mix. I also followed other reviewers' advice and did half wine and half stock, and it still tasted far too much like wine. I used good wine on this and felt like I wasted it. I will stick to my other pork tenderloin recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States