Burgundy Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I would make it again. Used fresh mushrooms and the flavor was very beefy. I accidently let the liquid reduce too much in the end and will try to pull them off the stove sooner next time, they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I make this often, but always use fresh mushrooms. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
These really had excellent flavor! You could taste the beef broth and the wine. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I think I added some garlic and I know I added salt and pepper. I never would have thought to prepare mushrooms this way. Thanks! P.S. Since I used fresh mushrooms, I did not have any canned mushroom liquid. Since I only used beef broth and wine, I did not have the same problem as other reviewers who said they had too much liquid. I had NO liquid left by the time they were done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Oh my goodness! This recipe is the best. I started growing my own mushrooms; portabella/crimini and white button. I grow them indoors and it has really been fun. I used a mix of my home grown mushrooms and made this as is except for thickening with just a touch of cornstarch at the end just to give it some body, not make it gravy. I served it on tenderloin fillet's with garlic mashed potato's. Spectacular is all I can say. Thanks so much for this one. This recipe would also be excellent for tenderloin tips...which I will make tomorrow with the left over sauce. A ten star recipe all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Wonderfull worth making more than a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
These were really good. I cleaned my mushrooms and trimmed the ends. Threw them in 1 1/2 cps Beef Broth, 1/2 cp Merlot cause that's what I had. Topped with some garlic powder and Italian seasonings. Left out the onions cause they are a pain to chop. Came out really good and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Nice side dish. But make sure your eating party likes whole mushrooms and/or red wine. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Definitely need to doctor this one, but it was very good. I cut the onions in thin strips and sauteed them in a little butter, EVOO, and garlic. I used only 4oz of double strength broth and about 3/4 cup of wine. I also used fresh mushrooms, which I cut in half to help them absorb flavors. I let it reduce until it had a caramelized quality. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Just okay. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We will definitely be making this again. It smelled wonderful while on the stovetop. The only thing that surprised me was that the mushrooms did not absord as much flavor as I expected. I did use fresh mushrooms, but I cooked them for almost 40 minutes. Maybe simmering them for a longer time would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States