Burgundy Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Really awesome! My boyfriend and I work in a restaurant that serves these mushrooms with their steaks. We were trying to imitate the recipe with our steaks and we hit it right on the nose! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made these and becuase of late arrivals they sat on the stove for much longer than called for----DELICIOUS. I used fresh mushrooms and just a red wine, next time I think I will add a touch or red wine vinegar for a little zap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Really good! I actually marinated the mushrooms in more wine than the recipe called for overnight and added several splashes of Worchestershire sauce for richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
These mushrooms are quite tasty, but next time, I might skip the beef broth and just reduce the wine, onion, and FRESH mushrooms. It might make for a more concentrated mushroom dish, similar to THAT restaurant's dish the other reviewers were hinting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is easy, and it tastes GREAT, I actually used fresh mushrooms and it was fine. I also used a little corn starch to thicken the liquid before serving, I thought I was eating burgundy mushrooms from a gourmet restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I'm sorry, this was a disaster! The only thing I did different was triple the recipe for a crowd, but I didn't think that would matter. It was way too much liquid that wouldn't cook down. Finally I drained all the liquid out of the pan and kind of started over with the (canned) mushrooms. I sauted in half stick butter and added in more burgundy wine. The onion was still in the pan with the mushrooms and they did add a nice flavor. They turned out very good after my re-do. Sorry.. I dont know what went wrong here. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
My father makes these all the time. I love them sooo much. I don't care for mushrooms, but these were the best!!! He makes them with his steak, but instead of can mushrooms he uses the fresh ones in the produce section! YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was really good! It went great with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
added chopped garlic good with the flat iron steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Nice side dish. But make sure your eating party likes whole mushrooms and/or red wine. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States