Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Nothing like a bun, more like a roll. Tastes good, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really liked these! They had good flavor and texture, a little denser than most store-bought buns. Since they don't have added preservatives, plan on eating or freezing them within a couple days; that's about how long it takes for them to start drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. I used the paddle attachment on a Kitchenaid for the first mix, the switched to the dough hook until the dough started "cleaning the sides" of the bowl. I then hand kneaded a bit until it was very smooth & elastic. I let it rise an hour, then benched the dough at 3.5 oz. & let rise for the 30 min. suggested, then brushed w/egg wash & topped w/poppy seeds & kosher salt. They were beautiful & sooo good. We will be making these for gourmet burgers at our culinary student's weekly restaurant. They are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzona
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Good recipe, just plain buns/rolls. I proofed my yeast and used less water. Let rise in oiled glass bowl first then shaped and let rise again on baking tray. Used a little coarse sea salt on top. This recipe goes a long way so I made some herb dinner rolls as well. These are easy and fun to make, I attempted square buns. House always smells so good when baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These rolls were easy and a fun thing to do with my stepdaughter. The house smelled wonderful and I used them to serve sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent! I too used my bread maker on the dough setting and it turned out great! I'll be making these rolls often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This recipe is a keeper for my family. I already have a special recipe for our hamburger buns, so I used this recipe tonight for our hot dogs. They were so soft and fluffy. Next time I will make two batches and freeze one for those easy weeknight dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherricocoa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Best recipe I've found for burger/hot dog buns. These are light, fluffy and very tasty. Don't know if it made a difference, but I let my dough rise in a greased bowl for 45 minutes before shaping and letting rise for an additional 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. I made them for the first time. They don't look anything like the picture. Haha they will look more like buns the next time. I used salted butter instead and omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great recipe! Way to impress guest! Absolutely gorgeous! The crum, inside, was they way a hamburger bun should be, it was light, flaky, and held up to my hamburgers. I want to cut the buns in half, instead of making a total of 12 I would make 24 mini buns, and do hamburger sliders for an appetizer at my husbands next football party! I let the Dough rise for about two hours ( I forgot to slightly press down). Also I activated the yeast with the milk, water and sugar for about 10 min. I also added the egg and melted butter to the flour and mixed with my stand mixer before adding the milk /yeast mixture. They came out great. I did add about 5 cups flour. The Dough was slightly sticky but easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States