Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Really good buns, nice and big. Made these in breadmaker, turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Thanks for this great recipe. I have tried many bread recipes but this is by far the best in terms of time, taste and texture. I needed the buns asap and I made it all within the hour. I guess I like the fact that by half an hour it had risen and ready to be baked. Although the buns feel heavy, they were so soft and scrumptious. Thank you Sally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This might be the best bread I've ever made. I substituted 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour, then made 2 hot dog buns and 4 large burger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villain_s_deeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe as is and my buns turned out like biscuits. I'll try it again in the bread machine to see if it yields better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made them twice to give them another chance...they didn't rise. I bake bread a lot and I use quality ingredients...disappointing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These turned out very well. Easy to handle. I substituted 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shirley sun
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
i tried this recipe today,and made a little bit change,i filled some pork sung and sweet corn inside,and it turn out pretty good.i will try to post the pictures later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOPPEL
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Best. Burger buns. EVER!!! I have never made my own burger buns before, and these turned out beyond perfect. I was a little unsure on how big to make them as I didn't know how much they would rise, so the sizes were a little all over the place. I did not have instant yeast, so as someone else suggested I used 4 tsp regular yeast, proofed it and let the dough rise twice. It rose so fast I could literally watch the buns get bigger. Oh, and I also brushed them with egg white before baking. They were dense, as so many others have stated, but not too dense. They came out so soft and fluffy on the inside that it didn't matter. And I found it nice to have dense buns versus the usual cotton ball store bought buns. I also did not think that they were too sweet. I thought they were quite perfect. And so did the kids and the hubby. For serving I sliced them, brushed them with a little butter, then toasted them on the griddle until nice and golden brown. I will never buy buns again, nothing comes even close to these. And they were incredibly fast and easy to make. I can't wait to try them for hotdogs. (Btw, leftover buns are delicious with some honey butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
So yummy, so simple to make. The only thing I do differently is that I let the dough rise after making/kneading in a greased and covered bowl-- once it has risen after about an hour I punch it down and then go onto step three. After making this a couple of times I am finally getting the hang of shaping hot dog buns. We don't ever bother purchasing hamburger or hotdog buns at the store now that I've started using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am so NOT a dough maker. Seems that most every dough recipe I attempt I somehow fail at. Not this one though. I did heed the advide of other knowledgable reviewers and let the dough rise for an hour after kneading. It easily doubled in size. Then I punched the dough down, halved it, then made 6 burger buns with one half, and 8 hot dog buns with the other half. I then let them rise again for another hour or so. These we so light and delicious! What a fun recipe. Makes me feel a little better about my dough skills. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States