Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I use this recipe all the time and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These are quite good--mine did come out a bit dense for hamburger rolls, but I've made lots of bread and I know that can be due to a LOT of factors. (Practice makes perfect!) I only needed 4 c. flour. Some of the reviews mentioned toughness, and too much flour will do that. The flavor is deeeeeeeeelicious--rich, buttery, YUM. Next time I'll divide it into 8 rolls instead of 12. Another thing I might try is a punchdown and a 2nd rise; it might give them more lift. Definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made hotdug buns, and they turned out great! Substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 of the cups of all-purpose and used stonewsre rather than grease cookie sheet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Best buns ever! I gave it a 4 on this fast version. The second time I let it sit overnight before baking ... and 5 star status buns came out of the oven. Definitely a keeper ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
You can't go wrong! These buns are delicious, easy, and FAST! I follow the recipe exactly, except for these changes: 3 cups of whole wheat flour (1 1/2 cups of white flour), honey instead of sugar, and coconut oil instead of butter. I mix and knead by hand, roll out the dough to about 1/2 inch thickness, then cut to the desired size of hamburger bun. (I make them smaller than the store-bought buns because who really NEEDS all of that bread?!) I let them rise 30+ minutes on a greased cookie sheet and then bake as directed. They have always turned out PERFECT ... rave reviews all around! We use them for pulled pork, hamburgers, tuna, lunch meat sandwiches, and even peanut butter and jelly! They are healthier, cheaper, and a million times more delicious than anything you'll buy in the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My kids love sandwiches made on these buns. I make mine with 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup ground flax seed per single recipe. Very easy recipe and the dough is wonderful to work with. I let mine rise about 10 minutes before flattening. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The ONLY thing I found that wasn't spelled out for the newbies is this: EITHER Don't heat the liquid mixture until the butter melts or it'll be way hotter than 120 degrees- OR- Heat just the water and butter until it melts and then add the milk to cool the liquid. Awesome tasting buns, very soft, and SUPER easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The taste is not at all like hot dog buns and they were very heavy and much thicker and denser than traditional hot dog buns. I made these by hand, not in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Holiday, Florida, USA
Living In: Berkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These are AMAZING!! My entire family, including 2 children under the age of 5 LOVED these. They were fantastic just by themselves as well as with the black bean veggie burgers I made (also from this site). I am a pretty experienced baker, but I am a novice bread maker. I used my bread machine's dough setting. My dough ended up being kind of sticky, but I added some flour to keep it from sticking to my hands and I was able to shape them decently. This must be a very forgiving recipe as they looked quite nice when they came out of the oven. There is a video tutorial on these, which I watched after making mine, and they show the butter as being melted. Mine was just softened butter, but they still turned out beautifully! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Thought it was a dryer bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States