Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Hi. Made this yesterday. Love the taste and texture. It is not sweet, soft, slightly chewy and had a bit of crunch (ate this still warm just few minutes after baking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your recipe! I made the heavenly hamburger rolls last night, my very first time and oh my stars they were so great! I do wish to ask you or any other viewer, Is there a way to make them a little lighter , not calorie wise but texture wise? Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
These where great for burger buns but for hot dog but I found them a bit to crumbly. I did the mixing/kneading by hand, not sure if It need more kneading or more rise time. Overall it was pretty easy and tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Haynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out pretty good. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
These can come out a little dense if you don't let them rise enough, especially the second time. You shouldn't bake them until they have risen to the size that you want them to be when they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
These turned out so good. I kneeded the dough in the bowl, why make a mess of you don't have to. I let the dough rise for about an hour, punched it down, made the buns, let them rise about 45 minutes brushed them with egg wash. They didn't Brown up like I wanted, but that is a issue with my propane oven. Next time I'll bust out the roaster oven. These are simple, fast, and delicious. I'll never buy buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Wartface
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I use this recipe but I mix it differently and I use delayed fermentation to enhance the flavor of the finished product. I mix the the liquids, the yeast (I use 1/2 that amount of yeast) and all of the flour together just to the shaggy point in my KitchenAid mixer. Then I cover the mixing bowl and let it autolyse/rest for 30 minutes. Then I add the other ingredients and mix it on speed 4 until the dough passes the window pane test. Then I put the dough on the counter top and do 3 stretch and folds with a 20 minute autolyse between each stretch and fold. Then I put it in my proofing bucket and put it in the refrigerator overnight. That slows down your proofing and adds flavor. The next day I take it out of the fridge punch it down and final shape it and place my buns on a parchment lined sheet pan and cover it with plastic wrap so I can see when the buns have doubled in size. Once the buns have doubled in size I apply an eggwash (yoke only with a teaspoon of water) and some sesame seeds and bake them. These are technique's I learned baking artisan sourdough bread. This method takes exactly the same amount of "hands on" time but it gives you a much better tasting bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Really liked these at first but they didn't stay fresh tasting, became quite dry the very next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by New to cooking
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Turned a regular Sunday afternoon hotdog into a fun foodies meal! I used bread flower (cause it's all I had) and it very rich full buns! Also brushed it with egg and dusted with sesame seeds to put it really over the top! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New to cooking

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I tried these today with a mix of White Whole Wheat and Unbleached Wheat flour. They were so yummy my children ate a number of them without us even getting to the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States