Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This turned out great, like other people have said a little dense, but they turned out great, and everyone at my bbq loved them. I only say dense because it was more like a bun than bread and people might expect it to be like light fluffy bread. I did let the dough rise for about 3-4 hrs each time I made this and I think this helped a lot, and then after I shaped them let them rise for another hour. I made hot dog and hamburger buns, both were great. I also used slightly less flour than the recipe called for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Best bun recipe. I used various all-purpose flours in the mix: rye, whole wheat, and white. They turned out perfectly! This is my new base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Really good buns, nice and big. Made these in breadmaker, turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Thanks for this great recipe. I have tried many bread recipes but this is by far the best in terms of time, taste and texture. I needed the buns asap and I made it all within the hour. I guess I like the fact that by half an hour it had risen and ready to be baked. Although the buns feel heavy, they were so soft and scrumptious. Thank you Sally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This might be the best bread I've ever made. I substituted 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour, then made 2 hot dog buns and 4 large burger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe as is and my buns turned out like biscuits. I'll try it again in the bread machine to see if it yields better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made them twice to give them another chance...they didn't rise. I bake bread a lot and I use quality ingredients...disappointing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These turned out very well. Easy to handle. I substituted 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shirley sun
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
i tried this recipe today,and made a little bit change,i filled some pork sung and sweet corn inside,and it turn out pretty good.i will try to post the pictures later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOPPEL
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Best. Burger buns. EVER!!! I have never made my own burger buns before, and these turned out beyond perfect. I was a little unsure on how big to make them as I didn't know how much they would rise, so the sizes were a little all over the place. I did not have instant yeast, so as someone else suggested I used 4 tsp regular yeast, proofed it and let the dough rise twice. It rose so fast I could literally watch the buns get bigger. Oh, and I also brushed them with egg white before baking. They were dense, as so many others have stated, but not too dense. They came out so soft and fluffy on the inside that it didn't matter. And I found it nice to have dense buns versus the usual cotton ball store bought buns. I also did not think that they were too sweet. I thought they were quite perfect. And so did the kids and the hubby. For serving I sliced them, brushed them with a little butter, then toasted them on the griddle until nice and golden brown. I will never buy buns again, nothing comes even close to these. And they were incredibly fast and easy to make. I can't wait to try them for hotdogs. (Btw, leftover buns are delicious with some honey butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States