Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by FoodieWife
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
What I love about this recipe is that it can be made in an hour. The first time I made the dough, I used a Danish Dough Whisk. It took minimal effort to knead the dough into a smooth ball. The second time, I use my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, and the dough kneaded in about 7 minutes. My tip is: turn your oven onto WARM for 2-3 minutes, then turn it off (while the dough is kneading). This creates a proofing oven, where my rolls proofed beautifully in 25 minutes. I like to brush an egg wash and sprinkle with either sesame or poppy seeds. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this hoping for a great Bun recipe but ended up with a pretty good bicuit instead. I may try it again and follow the procedure more closely next time. The end result I came out with looked nothing like the picture... then again, judging from all the other pics sent in by users, it would seem that no one gets the same result. Like I said, it wasn't what I'd consider a bun but more of a bicuit... at least for a biscuit it was a pretty good one... great with butter and jam and probably good for a chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddyDave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly with all freshly bought ingredients, the only thing that was different was that I used whole wheat flour which I compensated time and used a little less flour. The result, the buns did not rise at all and did not fully bake through even with doubling the cooking time (probably because it was so darn dense!) Definitely not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oli Rusu
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
THE BEST Hot Dog Buns I ever eat are the ones I did tonight from this recipe. Soft and perfect. Do not overbake. 10 min is enough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oli Rusu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I use my bread machine dough setting & have changed the ingredients a bit to make it healthier. Instead of 4 1/2 c. All-Purpose flour, I use 1 c. Unbleached Bread flour, 3 c. Whole Wheat flour, & 1/2 c. Rolled Oats. Increase milk by about 2 T. & yeast to 2 1/2 t. I also replace the butter w/Coconut Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Perfect Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These turned out terrible for me, and I followed the recipe exactly. They were hard, dense hockey pucks. Not sure how I mess this up, but I wont' be trying these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Tip: place the dough in a bowl with a towel over it and set it on top of a hot water-bottle. The dough will rise better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUIYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My husband was eating the buns even without the burgers in them. I made a completely whole wheat version since that was the only flour I had. I just sifted it so to help it not be too dense. They came out perfect. Denser but still a fluffy bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Wow these are good!!! I followed the recipe for the most part but used my food processor for the mixing and kneading (less mess to clean up) and I followed Camilea's advice and let it rise for an hour in a bowl, shape the buns then let the rise for another hour. I did this because I did not have instant yeast, it worked well. These are wonderful, I can't imagine wanting store bought buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Living In: Hooversville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States