Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I halved the recipe and make 8 hotdog buns slightly flattened. Made dough in bread machine then let raise 1 hour. Divided dough into rolls, then flattened and placed nearly touching on oiled sheet pan, covered with towel and let raise another 35 minutes. Baked about 12 minutes rotating pan 1/2 way through. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The people who rated this low must have either been killing their yeast, not measuring the flour correctly, or both. I made this exactly as described and they were the best buns I've ever had. I've learned that you have to weigh flour because there is a big discrepancy between weighing and measuring. Measuring ends up in dense buns, weighing results in light and fluffy buns. I used my bread machine to make the dough, just put in the ingredients per the manufacturer's instructions and make sure to beat the egg a bit. The dough turned out pretty sticky, but i just put a little bit of oil on my hands to roll them into balls and flatten them. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Ramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anika Farha
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
These buns were just "bakery-perfect"! I followed the recipe mostly by sticking to the comment made by CAMILEA. Her every single tip made my hamburgers taste 5 times more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anika Farha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The flavor was great! However, they didn't rise very well. After the first batch, I did a second, using a little more yeast (yes, it was fresh-I checked this time!) and still flat. I'm not going to give up though, I plan to tweak it a bit and see if I can get the beautiful buns that others have :) Will update when I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great buns. Onky change I made was using 2 eggs. Gives them even better color. I use this for hot dog, hamburger and hogie buns. My wife no longer buys buns. Topping with seasame or cerely seeds is great. This is my go to bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Nothing like a bun, more like a roll. Tastes good, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really liked these! They had good flavor and texture, a little denser than most store-bought buns. Since they don't have added preservatives, plan on eating or freezing them within a couple days; that's about how long it takes for them to start drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. I used the paddle attachment on a Kitchenaid for the first mix, the switched to the dough hook until the dough started "cleaning the sides" of the bowl. I then hand kneaded a bit until it was very smooth & elastic. I let it rise an hour, then benched the dough at 3.5 oz. & let rise for the 30 min. suggested, then brushed w/egg wash & topped w/poppy seeds & kosher salt. They were beautiful & sooo good. We will be making these for gourmet burgers at our culinary student's weekly restaurant. They are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzona
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Good recipe, just plain buns/rolls. I proofed my yeast and used less water. Let rise in oiled glass bowl first then shaped and let rise again on baking tray. Used a little coarse sea salt on top. This recipe goes a long way so I made some herb dinner rolls as well. These are easy and fun to make, I attempted square buns. House always smells so good when baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These rolls were easy and a fun thing to do with my stepdaughter. The house smelled wonderful and I used them to serve sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States